Frampton on Severn, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Frampton on Severn, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Frampton on Severn, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Whitstone
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Wheatenhurst
Registration District Wheatenhurst
Records begin
Parish registers: 1625
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dursley
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Parish History

FRAMPTON-on-Severn (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Wheatenhurst, Lower division of the hundred of Whitestone, E. division of the county of Gloucester, 7 miles (N. by W.) from Dursley. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Frampton on Severn, Gloucestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[6]
DEAN = Forest of Dean Family History Trust - free[7]
FHSO = FHSOnline - (£)[8]
FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[9]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[10]
FRAMPTON ON SEVERN PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1577-1813 1577-1813 1577-1753 1577-1753 1577-1813 1577-1813
AC 1813-1913 1813-1913 1754-1938 1754-1938 1813-1979 1813-1979
BOYD
1625-1813

DEAN 1604-1970 1606-1953 1603-1979
FHSO 1800-1837
FREG 1625-1812
JOIN

1625-1812


PALL
1790-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288781.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 259-263. Date accessed: 04 December 2012.
  2. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1813,' Ancestry, accessed 17 June 2016.
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 23 June 2016.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Marriages, 1754-1938,' Ancestry, accessed 21 June 2016.
  5. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 28 June 2016.
  6. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  7. 'Transcript Summary,' Forest of Dean Family History Trust, accessed 18 July 2016. The Forest of Dean Family History Trust's 'policy is not to show records within the following cut off years - Baptisms 90 years, Marriages 70 years, Burials 30 years.'
  8. 'Coverage for the Gloucestershire Marriages database,' FHS Online, accessed 5 May 2014.
  9. 'Gloucestershire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 April 2014.
  10. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.