Franklin County, Missouri Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Franklin County, Missouri)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Franklin County

Guide to Franklin County, Missouri ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Franklin County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 11, 1818
County Seat Union
Courthouse
MissouriFranklinCourthouse.jpg
Address Franklin County Courthouse
Courthouse Square
PO Box 311
Union, MO 63084-0311
Phone: 314.583.6355
Franklin County Website


County Information

Franklin County, Missouri Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1862 1819 1830 1819 1819

County Courthouse

County Clerk has birth records 1883-1892 and death records 1883-1887; Recorder of Deeds has marriage and land records; Clerk of the Circuit Court has divorce records; Probate Judge has probate records.[2]

Franklin County website

History

Local histories are available for Franklin County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

Parent County

1818 Franklin County was created 11 December 1818 from St. Louis County. County seat: Union [3]

Franklin County was established in 1818, two years before Missouri was admitted to the Union as a state. When the Missouri Territory was organized in 1812, there were only five counties: St. Charles, St. Louis, Ste. Genevieve, Cape Girardeau and New Madrid. Franklin County was once part of St. Louis County. Between 1812 and 1820, the number of counties increased to 15 with the addition of Washington (1813), Howard (1816), and Jefferson, Franklin, Wayne, Lincoln, Madison, Montgomery, Pike and Cooper (all 1818). Any student of history and genealogy relating to Franklin County in the first half of the 19th century would be well advised to become apprised of the details of county formation and township formation as townships also evolved before assuming their present form. Someone living in St. Louis County in 1814 might actually have been in present-day Franklin County. Likewise, someone living in Franklin County in 1818 could have been living in present-day Gasconade County.

When the county was first organized, Newport was selected as the first county seat and remained so until 1825, when an act of Legislature effected its removal to Union. Before a courthouse could be built at Union, court was held in a structure belonging to Ambrose Ransom (see photo at right).

Two invaluable sources of early Franklin County history are Goodspeed and Kiel histories. "Goodspeed" is an 1888 history published by Goodspeed Publishing Company of Chicago, Illinois, correctly called "History of Missouri, Franklin, Jefferson, Washington, Crawford, & Gasconade Counties. The "Kiel" history, correctly referred to as "The Centennial Biographical Directory of Franklin County, Missouri" compiled and published by Herman Gottlieb Kiel", 1925, is basically a book of lists, but the lists are a great tool for the researcher.[4]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Crawford  • Gasconade  • Jefferson  • St. Charles  • St. Louis  • Warren  • Washington

Franklin CountyWarren CountyMaries CountyOsage CountyCallaway CountyMontgomery CountyGasconade CountyDent CountyPhelps CountyPulaski CountyCrawford CountyIron CountyWashington CountySt. Francois CountySte. Genevieve CountyJefferson CountySt. Louis CountySt. Charles CountyLincoln CountyMonroe CountyMOFranklin.JPG



Resources

Biographies

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
MOGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
MOGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
MOInterment
MOGravestones
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Missouri Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Franklin County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • Roblee, Melvin B. Historical review of Franklin County, Missouri, 1818-1968. Franklin County Sesqui-centennial Corp., [1968?].
  • History of Franklin, Jefferson, Washington, Crawford & Gasconade counties, Missouri : from the earliest time to the present, together with sundry personal business and professional sketches and numerous family records, besides a valuable fund of notes, original observations, etc., etc.Chicago : Goodspeed Pub., 1888.
  • Hildner, George John. One hundred years for God and country : St. John's, the church and the community, 1839-1940. Washington, Mo. : Printed by the Washington Missourian, 1940.
  • Sesquicentennial 150 years young, 1818-1968, Franklin County and Pacific, Missouri : featuring "Show-me Franklin," August 6-17, 1968. Pacific, Mo. : Pacific Press, 1968.

Maps

Mofranklin.jpg

Military

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments

Service men in Franklin County, Missouri served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Franklin County, Missouri:

- 11th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company K
- 26th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company E
- 26th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company F
- 26th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company I
- 31st Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company E
- 31st Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company G
- 12th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company H
- 54th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 54th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 54th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 54th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 55th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 55th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 55th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 55th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 55th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 55th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 55th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 55th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
- 54th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company K
- 54th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Franklin County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed. Online Probate Records

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
Marriages
Deaths

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

  • Four Rivers Genealogical Society
    P.O. Box 146
    Washington, MO 63090
  • Franklin County Historical Society
    P.O. Box 293
    15 North Oak Street
    Union, MO 63084-0293
    Phone: 636-583-3247

Family History Centers

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Franklin County, Missouri Genealogy
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Missouri Genealogy Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Franklin County, Missouri Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Major genealogy resource library, located in Indiana. On home page enter "Franklin Missouri" and search catalog.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Franklin County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Franklin County, Missouri Genealogy
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
Ancestry.com Franklin County Message Board

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 422-438. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Franklin County, Missouri. Page 400 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~mofrankl/index.htm
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5a/Igimissouria.pdf.