Franklin County, Vermont Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Franklin County, Vermont)
Jump to: navigation, search

Guide to Franklin County, Vermont ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Vermont Gotoarrow.png Franklin County


{{{link}}}

Franklin County, Vermont
Map
Map of Vermont highlighting Franklin County
Location in the state of Vermont
Facts
Founded November 5, 1792
County Seat Saint Albans
Courthouse
Address Franklin County Courthouse
PO Box 808
Saint Albans , VT 05478
802-524-2739
802-524-3863
Fax: 802-524-7996


Franklin County Website


County Courthouse

County clerk has divorce and court records from 1900; town clerks have birth, marriage, death, burial and land; probate judge has probate records.

Towns Organized Before 1800:
Bakersfield 1791,
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Franklin County, Vermont
Berkshire 1781,
Enosburg 1780,
Fairfax 1763,
Fairfield 1763,
Fletcher 1781,
Franklin 1789,
Georgia 1763,
Highgate 1763,
Montgomery 1789,
Richford 1780,
Sheldon 1763,
Swanton 1763,
St. Albans 1763[1]

Quick Facts

Parent County

Boundary Changes

9 November 1802, Grand Isle County set off.

For animated maps illustrating Vermont County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Vermont County Boundary Maps" (1764-1895) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities

Towns and City

VermontFranklin CountyOrleans CountyLamoille CountyChittenden CountyGrand Isle CountyQuebecFlecherFairfaxGeorgiaSaint AlbansSaint Albans CitySwantonHighgateFranklinSheldonFairfieldBakersfieldEnosburgBerkshireRichfordMontgomeryJayTroyWestfieldLowellCraftsburyHyde ParkEdenJohnsonMorristownCambridgeWatervilleBelvidereUnderhillWestfordEssexColchesterMiltonSouth HeroGrand IsleNorth HeroIslela MottAlburgLacolleLacolleSaint ValentinSaint PaulNoyanHenry VilleSaint-Georges-de-ClarencevilleSaint SebastienVenise-enSaint PierreStanbridge StationSaint ArmandBedfordStanbridgeDunhamFrelighsburgAbercornSuttonPotton
Modern town borders in Franklin County, Vermont.


Extinct Town:   • Smithfield[2]

Villages:   • Enosburg Falls   • Swanton

Neighboring Counties

Chittenden | Grand Isle | Lamoille | Orleans | Quebec counties: Brome | Missisquoi

Resources

Archives and Libraries

Cemeteries

Church Records

Court records

Gazetteers

Land and Property

Maps

Vtfranklin.jpg

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Franklin County for European settlers included:[3]

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments and Companies:

- 2nd Regiment, Vermont Infantry
- 13th Regiment, Vermont Infantry
- 5th Regiment, Vermont Infantry, Company A and C

Newspapers

Probate Records

Online Probate Records


A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

Vermont, Franklin County Probates (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Vermont Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for the following Vermont certificates:

Downloadable applications from Vermont Department of Health.

Societies, Libraries and Museums

See also a List of Vermont Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical and Genealogical Societies

Historical Societies

Franklin Historical Society
Log Cabin Museum
Hanna Road, Franklin, VT
Phone: 802) 285-6472

Berkshire Historical Society
2520 Richford Road,
Richford, VT 05476
Phone: (802) 848-3459
Email Address:jagljoweld@yahoo.com

Enosburgh Historical Society
PO Box 98, 239 Main Street,
Enosburg Falls, VT 05450
Phone:(802) 933-4421

Fairfax Historical Society
PO Box 145,
Fairfax, VT 05454
Phone: (802) 849-6638
Website

Fairfield Historical Society
PO Box 5
Fairfield, VT 05455
Phone: (802) 309-5076

Bakersfield Historical Society
Museum in former St George's Catholic Church, VT
Route 36 & VT Route 108
Bakersfield, VT
Mailing Address: PO Box 70
Bakersfield, VT 05441
Phone: (802) 827-3042 or (802) 827-4418
Website

Georgia Historical Society
Brick Museum, Georgia Center
Gordon's Mill Ag Museum
Georgia Plain
Georgia Library
US Rte 7 @ I-89 Exit 18
Mailing Address:PO Box 2072
Georgia, VT 05468
Website

Highgate Historical Society
Museum
3181 VT Route 78
Highgate Center, VT
Mailing Address: PO Box 222
Highgate Center, VT 05459
Phone: (802) 868-4619

Isle La Motte Historical Society
Main Street and Quarry Road
Isle La Motte, VT
PO Box 18
Isle La Motte, VT 05463
Email:gloilm@yahoo.com
Phone:802-928-3077

Montgomery Historical Society
Pratt Hall
VT
Route 118
MOntgomery Village, VT 05470
Mailing address: PO Box 47
Montgomery, VT 05470
Email:pratthall@gmail.com
Website

Franklin and Grand Isle Counties Historical Societies
Website

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Websites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 698. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 395. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.
  3. Handybook, 847-61.