Frederiksberg Parish, København, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.png Denmark Gotoarrow.pngCopenhagen City Gotoarrow.pngFrederiksberg

Guide to Frederiksberg, Denmark ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.


History

Residents in Ny Hollænderby (now called Frederiksberg) had received permission from King Frederik III, to establish a church. For many years, the priests of the church were either German or Dutch. In 1636, the church finally became a parish and was called Frederiksberg parish.

From 1747 to 1891, Hvidovre parish was an annex parish to Frederiksberg.

The following is a chronological list of changes to the parish:

  • 1880 - part of the parish went to both de Classenske boliger and Skt. Matthæus parishes.
  • 1897 - part of the parish was given to Skt. Lukas parish.
  • 1898 - part of the parish went to Skt. Thomas parish.
  • 1902 - part of the parish went to Skt. Markus parish.
  • 1908 - a part of the parish was given to Solbjerg parish.
  • 1926 - a part of the parish was given to Lindevangs parish.
  • 1931 - again, a part of the parish was given to Solbjerg parish.
  • 1953 - another portion of the parish was again given to Solbjerg parish.
  • 8 May 1954 - part of Kristkirken parish was annexed by Frederiksberg parish.

(Write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

Frederiksberg Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift Add here
Pastorat Add here
Amt 1662 - 1793 København
Amt 1794 - 1970 København
Herred Frederiksberg
Kommune Add here
1788 – 1793 Lægd number 15
1794 – 1869 Lægd number 12
Retskreds Add here
Skifteretten Add here
Gods Add here


Street Names

Absalonsgade, Alhambravej, Allegade, Amicisvej, Asgaardsvej, Asmussens Alle, Aurikelvej Valby, Azaleavej Valby, Aasgaardsvej

Badevej, Bag Søndermarken Valby, Bakkegaards Alle, Boyesgade, Brensteds Alle, Brøndsteds Alle

Carit Etlars Vej, Carl Bernhards Vej

Dannebrosgade, Doktor Priemes Vej

Edisonsvej, Engtoftevej

Farimagsvej, Frederik den 6tes Alle, Frederiksberg Alle Frederiksberg Bredergade, Frederiksberg Have, Frederiksberg Runddel, Frederiksberg Slot, Frydendalsvej, Frydsvej

Gammel Kongevej, Gasværksvej

Halls Alle, Hauchsvej, Haveselskabetsvej, Henrik Ibsens Vej, Hollændervej, Hortensiavej

Istegade

Jacobys Alle, Jasminvej

Kammasvej, Kingosgade, Kristinedalsvej, Kochsvej

Lømerpladsen

Madvigs Alle, Maglekildevej, Magnoliavej Valby, Martensens Alle, Mynstersvej, Møllervej

Normansvej Valby, Nyvej

Oehlenschlægersgade

Paludan Mullers Vej, Pelargonievej Valby, Pile Alle, Plantanvej

Rahbeks Alle, Roskildevej

Sankt Thomas Alle, Schlegels Alle, Spiræavej Valby, Sønder Fasanvej

Valby Langgade, Valdemarsgade, Vej forbi Amerika, Vej til Kongensenghave, Vesterbro, Vesterbrogade, Vesterfælledvej, Vesterports Ravelin, Viktoriagade, Værnedamsvej

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records

Click Denmark, København Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a Family History Center near you. Click on "Places within Denmark, København" and then select your parish.

References