Freeborn County, Minnesota Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Freeborn County, Minnesota)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Minnesota Gotoarrow.png 'Freeborn County

Guide to Freeborn County, Minnesota ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Freeborn County, Minnesota
Map
Map of Minnesota highlighting Freeborn County
Location in the state of Minnesota
Map of the U.S. highlighting Minnesota
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 20, 1855
County Seat Albert Lea
Courthouse
Address Freeborn County Courthouse
411 S Broadway Avenue
Albert Lea, MN 56007
Phone: 507.377.5153
Freeborn County Website


County Information

Freeborn County, Minnesota Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1870 1857 1870 1850 1854 1866

County Courthouse


Details:

Clerk District Court has birth and death records from 1870,
marriage and court records from 1857. County Recorder has land records from 1854.
Probate Office has probate records from 1866. [2]

History

Parent County

  • 1855--Freeborn County was created 20 February 1855 from Blue Earth and Rice Counties.

County seat: Albert Lea [3]

  • For a brief history of how Freeborn County was named, click here.  Then select Freeborn County.

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Cities

[Albert Lea] | Alden | Armstrong | Clarks Grove | Conger | Emmons | Freeborn | Geneva | Glenville | Gordonsville | Hartland | Hayward | Hollandale | Manchester | Mansfield | Myrtle | Oakland | Petran | Twin Lakes

Townships

Albert Lea Township | Alden Township | Bancroft Township | Bath Township | Carlston Township | Freeborn Township | Freeman Township | Geneva Township | Hartland Township | Hayward Township | London Township | Manchester Township | Mansfield Township | Moscow Township | Newry Township | Nunda Township | Oakland Township | Pickerel Lake Township | Riceland Township | Shell Rock Township

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
MNGenWeb Archives WorldCat Billion Graves
Tombstone Project
MNInterment
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Minnesota Cemeteries for more information.

Census

State Census

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.


Lutheran

Concordia (Bear Lake) Lutheran Church, Twin Lakes

  • Records of the Concordia (Bear Lake) Lutheran Church, Twin Lakes, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Concordia Lutheran Church, Albert Lea

  • Records of the Concordia Lutheran Church, Albert Lea, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[4]

First Lutheran Church, Albert Leas

  • Records of First Lutheran Church, Albert Leas, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[4]

Freeborn Lutheran Church, Clarks Grove

  • Records of Freeborn Lutheran Church, Clarks Grove, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[4]

Lime Creek Lutheran Church, Emmons

  • Records of Lime Creek Lutheran Church, Emmons, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[4]

Court

Emigration and Immigration

Land

The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:

MINNESOTA, Freeborn – LAND AND PROPERTY


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Freeborn County, Minnesota Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.

Maps

Mnfreeborn.jpg

Military

Civil War

Civil War service men from Freeborn County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Freeborn County.

- 1st Regiment, Minnesota Cavalry (Mounted Rangers), Company H
- 2nd Regiment, Minnesota Cavalry, Company C
- 4th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company F
- 5th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company C
- 10th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company E
- 15th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company K

Naturalization Records

  • Naturalization records in the Freeborn County District Court.  Click here.

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Freeborn County, Minnesota Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.


Online Probate Records

Taxation

Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred], order electronically online ($) or download an application for Minnesota Birth Certificate and Death Certificates Applications to mail.

See also Minnesota Vital Records or How to order Minnesota Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Birth
Marriage
Death


Societies and Libraries

Freeborn County Genealogical Society
PO Box 403
1033 Bridge Avenue
Albert Lea 56007
Website

Freeborn County Historical Society
1031 Bridge Avenue
Albert Lea 56007
Website

Alden Community Historical Society
PO Box 323
Alden, MN 56009

Hollandale Area Historical Society
PO Box 184
Hollandale MN 56045-0184
Telephone: 507-889-4491

Southern Minnesota Historical Center
Mankato State University
Mankato, MN 56001
Website

Clarks Grove Area Heritage Society
Po Box 188
Clarks Grove, Minnesota 56016-0188

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 385-403. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Freeborn County, Minnesota page 364, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.