Freisthorpe, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Freisthorpe, Lincolnshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England Wiki Topics
Flag of England
Beginning Research
Record Types
England Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
England
Lincolnshire
Lincolnshire Parishes
Freisthorpe

Guide to Freisthorpe, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Freisthorpe, Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lawress
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Lincoln
Registration District Lincoln
Records begin
Parish registers: 1620
Bishop's Transcripts: 1603
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lawres
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1834 - Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Lincoln; Post-1833 - Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Parish History

FRIESTHORPE, a parish in the district and county of Lincoln; 1 mile W by S of Wickenby r. station, and 5 SSW of Market-Rasen. Post town, Market-Rasen. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438763.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Friesthorpe/

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales published in 1870-72. Date accessed: 19 August 2013.