French Polynesia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Pacific Gotoarrow.pngFrench Polynesia

French Polynesia Wiki Topics
Flag of French Polynesia.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
French Polynesia Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to French Polynesia ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

French Polynesia is an island overseas collectivity of the French Republic in the Pacific Ocean whose nearest neighbors are the Cook Islands, Kiribati, and the Pitcairn Islands. The official language is French.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with French Polynesia Research

Links to articles on getting started with French Polynesia research.

French Polynesia Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in French Polynesia research.

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

French Polynesia Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in French Polynesia.

Marquesas IslandsTuamotu IslandsSociety Islands (includes Tahiti)Gambier IslandsAustral IslandsFrench Polynesia regions map.png
About this image


Genealogy records are kept on the local level in French Polynesia. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.

French Polynesia lies south of Hawaii and east of Tonga and Samoa. It is composed of 118 islands. From north to south the major island groups are:

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.


  1. Wikipedia contributors, “French Polynesia,” in ‘’Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,’’, accessed 29 April 2016.