Fring, Norfolk Genealogy
|Poor Law Union||Docking|
|Parish registers: 1671|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1691|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
FRING, or Frenge (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Docking, hundred of Smithdon, W. division of Norfolk, 8 miles (N. W. by N.) from Rougham. 
Fring All Saints is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich.
The church was built in 1300 – 1330 on lands owned by Norwich Priory from 1001, the Bishop of Norwich making provision for the monastic community by allowing the glebe land of the parish to profit the Priory.
The original 14th C. bell still hangs in the bell tower and was restored in 1999.
Little change has been made to the structure since the Reformation other than the addition of a fine modern stained glass window in 1984.
Fring is a civil parish in the English county of Norfolk. For the purposes of local government, it falls within the district of King's Lynn and West Norfolk.The modern parish is in the Heacham and Rising Deanery and Lynn Archdeanery of the diocese of Norwich.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Fring parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FRING PARISH Online Records|
Norfolk Record Office reference PD 630
Parish registers for Fring Microfilm copy of original in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library in Norwich, Norfolk, England.
Microfilm copy of original in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library in Norwich, Norfolk, England.
Archdeacons transcripts, 1725-1812
Baptisms and burials 1725-1812 Marriages 1726-1812 FHL BRITISH Film 1526810 Item 1
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438865.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Fring on GenUKI
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 263-266. Date accessed: 25 September 2013.
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
- 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.
- Pallot's Marriage and Births Indexes: Guide to Parishes, n.d.; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.