Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Friuli-Venezia Giulia)
Jump to: navigation, search
Italy Research Topics
Roman Forum
Beginning Research
Record Types
Italy Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Italy
Friuli-Venezia Region
Friuli-Venezia Giulia-Italy.png

Guide to Friuli-Venezia region ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

History

Jurisdictions

The region of Friuli-Venezia Giulia is divided into four provinces (similar to counties in the United States):

Friuli-Venezia Giulia Provinces.JPG

Learn more about Friuli-Venezia Giulia jurisdictions.

Research Tools

The site Archivio di Statio Udine "... is a data bank which organises registry documents, connects them to people and fixes important biographical events of generations of Friulians who lived between the second half of the 19th century and the 20th century. The sources chosen to create this historical data bank were the marriage certificates and the deeds of the office that dealt with conscription."

"Currently the data bank has the details of 84,091 marriage certificates dating back to the period 1871-1900 for all the municipalities in the province of Udine (except for the area which used to be under Austrian rule) and 133,829 conscription papers for those born between 1846-1890 from the districts of Ampezzo, Cividale, Gemona, Latisana, Moggio, San Daniele, S. Pietro, Tolmezzo and Tarcento."