Frome St Quintin, Dorset Genealogy
Guide to Frome St Quintin, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Frome St Quintin, Dorset|
|Poor Law Union||Cerne|
|Parish registers: 1661|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1731|
|Probate Court||Court of the Manor and Liberty of Frampton|
|Location of Archive|
|Dorset Record Office|
FROOME-ST. QUINTIN, a parish in Dorchester district, Dorset; on the river Frome, and on the Dorchester and Yeovil railway, adjacent to the Roman road from Dorchester, near Evershot railway station, 5 miles WNW of Cerne-Abbas.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241339.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 06 July 2103.
- Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
- Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.