Frome Vauchurch, Dorset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Frome Vauchurch, Dorset)
Jump to: navigation, search
England Wiki Topics
Flag of England
Beginning Research
Record Types
England Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
England
Dorset
Dorset Parishes
Frome Vauchurch

Guide to Frome Vauchurch, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Frome Vauchurch, Dorset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tollerford
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Dorchester
Registration District Dorchester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1654
Bishop's Transcripts: 1732
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dorchester
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office

Parish History

FROOME-VAUCHURCH, a parish in Dorchester district, Dorset; on the river Frome and on the Dorchester and Yeovil railway, near Evershot railway station, 5½ miles WNW of Cerne-Abbas.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Online Frome Vauchurch, Dorset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1640
1667
1640
Images
1640-1819 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1921 Ancestry[3]
Indexes 1667-1812 FreeREG[4]
1667-1810 Joiner[5]
1667-1748 findmypast[6]
1790-1812 Ancestry[7]

Frome Vauchurch, Dorset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[8]
Frome Vauchurch, Dorset Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG
1667-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241339.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 06 July 2103.
  2. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  3. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 21 May 2012.
  5. 'Search Marriage Records in Dorset,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 9 June 2012.
  6. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 5 July 2012.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  8. 'Dorset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.