Frontier County, Nebraska Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Frontier County, Nebraska)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Nebraska Gotoarrow.png Frontier County

Frontier County, Nebraska
Map
Map of Nebraska highlighting Frontier County
Location in the state of Nebraska
Map of the U.S. highlighting Nebraska
Location of Nebraska in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 17, 1872
County Seat Stockville
Courthouse
px
Address Frontier County Courthouse
1 Wellington Street
P.O. Box 40
Stockville, NE 69402-0040
Phone: 308.367.8641
County Website


Frontier County, Nebraska genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.


{{{link}}}

County Information

Frontier County, Nebraska Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1872 1880 1872 1872

County Courthouse


County Clerk has marriage and military records. County Judge has divorce, probate, court and naturalization records. Clerk and Treasurer have cemetery records. Superintendent of Schools has school census. [2]

History

Parent County

1872 Frontier County was created 17 January 1872 from unorganized territory. County seat: Stockville [3]

Description

Frontier County was named for its location along the frontier border in the late 19th century. Its county seat is Stockville.[4]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places[5]

  • Curtis
  • Eustis
  • Freedom
  • Maywood
  • Moorefield
  • Orafino
  • Stockville

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NEGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
NEGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Nebraska Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See Nebraska Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1880 934
1890 8,497 809.7%
1900 8,781 3.3%
1910 8,572 −2.4%
1920 8,540 −0.4%
1930 8,114 −5.0%
1940 6,417 −20.9%
1950 5,282 −17.7%
1960 4,311 −18.4%
1970 3,982 −7.6%
1980 3,647 −8.4%
1990 3,101 −15.0%
2000 3,099 −0.1%
2010 2,756 −11.1%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Frontier County, Nebraska Genealogy census records online, see: Nebraska Census.

State Census Records
Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Nebraska starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Nebraska Census.

Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


For more information see Nebraska Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Frontier County, Nebraska Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Nefrontier.png

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War
WWI

Newspapers

For information on Nebraska newspapers, see Nebraska Newspapers. Nebraska Newspapers Online

Nebraska Newspaper Catalogs

Probate

In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - Frontier - Probate records.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Marriage Records

Online Marriage Records Indexes and Images

Societies and Libraries

County, Township and City Societies

Libraries

  • Eustis Public Library
    108 N Morton St
    PO Box 68
    Eustis, NE 69028-0068
    Phone: 308-486-2651
    Director: Ramona Koch
  • Butler Memorial Library
    621 Penn St
    Cambridge, NE 69022
    Phone: 308-697-3836
  • Curtis Public Library
    316 Center Ave
    Curtis, NE 69025
    Phone: 308-367-4148

Family History Centers

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 452-465. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Frontier County, Nebraska page 430, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Frontier_County,_Nebraska accessed 09/29/2016
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Frontier County, Nebraska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Frontier_County,_Nebraska, accessed 31 July 2016.