Gällersta Parish, Örebro, Sweden Genealogy
Guide to Gällersta Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Back to Sweden►
- 1 History
- 2 Place Names
- 3 Collections
- 3.1 Census Records
- 3.2 Church Records
- 3.3 Military Records
- 3.4 Related Sources
- 3.5 Help Reading Swedish Records
- 3.6 Help Reading Old Handwriting
- 3.7 Help With Research Objectives and Strategies
- 3.8 References
Gällersta (earlier Gellersta) lies about 10 km south of Örebro along a modern highway and the Hallsberg-Örebro railway line. The parish dates back to the middle ages. Primarily given to agriculture with flat land but the northern part gives way to woodland. A river, Täljeån, runs through the parish and a lake, Mosjön, figured in the history. The water level was lowered in the 1850s and again in the 1880s to reclaim more land for farming. Land reform (skifte) affected farm boundries in the mid 1800s. Gällersta is also the name of the small church village. Industry historically consisted of a few grist mills, several of which shut down when the lake level was lowered.
|Gällersta Parish, Örebro, Sweden Genealogy|
|Län||1631-1638 Närke-Värmland, 1639-1653 Örebro, 1654-1778 Närke-Värmland, 1779- Örebro|
|Tingslag||-1903 Sköllersta härad, 1904-1947 Asker and Sköllersta, 1948-1970 Östernärkes domsaga|
|Domsaga||-1773 Södra Närke, 1774-1783 Asker and Sköllersta, 1784-1809 Södra Närke 1810-1970 Östernärke, 1971- Örebro|
|Fögderi||1720-1917 Östernärke, 1918- Örebro|
|Länsmansdistrikt||-1917 Sköllersta härad|
|Kommun||1863-1951 Gällersta, 1952-1970 Ekeby and Gällersta, 1971- Örebro|
|Militär indelning||Lif-Regementets Husar-Corps: Örebro Sqvadron, Nerikes Regemente: Kumla Kompani, Nya Ordin. Soldat-Roteringen, -1791 Livregementet till Häst: Örebro and Östernärke kompanier, -1814 Närke-Värmlands Regemente: Livkompaniet, 1791-1796 Livregementsbrigadens Lätta-Dragon-Kår: Västernärke and Sanna skvadroner, 1796-1834 Livregements (Brigadens) Husarkår: Västernärke and Sanna skvadroner, 1814- Närke Regemente: Kumla kompani, 1834- Livregementetes Husarkår (Husarer): Örebro and Östernärke skvadroner|
|NAD Ref Code||SE/ULA/10352|
Bondsäter, Boängen, Bro (Norra), Bro (Södra),
Gellersta, Gryt, Guttersboda,
Klockarebord, Klockaregården, Kyrkbord, Kyrkebol,
Löfsäter, Lilla Eskog,
- Surrounding Parishes
- Sweden Household Examination Records (Husförhörslängder)--explanation of this church record which is functionally the census of Sweden.
- Sweden Household Examination Books, 1880 - 1920, ($), index and images. Also on Also on Arkiv Digital ($), and SVAR ($).
Online Database Church Records
The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)
Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden
- These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:
Family History Library Records
Click Sweden, Örebro Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a family history center near you. Click on "Places within Sweden, Örebro" and then select your parish.
Help Reading Swedish Records
- You do not have to be fluent in Swedish to read these records! The have a limited vocabulary: mother, father, born, bride, groom, married, etc. The rest of the content will be names, dates, and places, which do not need translation.
- This Swedish Word List covers typical terms found in the records.
- Swedish Historical Dictionary Database, SHDD: This interactive dictionary allows you to enter a word in the search box and receive the translation.
- Feast Day Calendar (Moveable) and Feast Day Lists (Fixed and Moveable) will help you translate dates written in feast day form.
- Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Sweden Names, Personal.
- For help with reading the column headings found in more recent records, see Swedish Parish Register and Household Exam Roll Headings.
- Instructions, document examples, and translations are given for Reading Swedish Birth and Christening Records 1717, 1752, 1771, 1792, 1803, 1834, 1854.
Help Reading Old Handwriting
- Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records: (free, online lessons at FamilySearch):
Help With Research Objectives and Strategies
Riksarkivet. "Gällersta Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). February 2011 http://www.nad.ra.se/
Gällersta, Husförhörslängd 1841-1845, Ortregister
Saxon, J L. Gällersta en sockenbeskrivning. Stockholm: 1915. film 1 440 242 item 8.