Gävleborg: Skog parish, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search


Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwedenGotoarrow.pngGävleborg County Gotoarrow.pngSkog parish


Guide to Skog parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Back to Sweden

History

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

Skog parish was formerly called Baervik or Bergvik.
Gävleborg: Skog
Jurisdictions
Stift Uppsala ärkestift
Pastorat 1324-1915 Skog, 1915-05-01-1973 Skog och Lingbo, 1974- Skog
Län -1762 Västernorrland, 1762- Gävleborg
Landskap Hälsingland
Härad not applicable
Tingslag -1693 Skog, 1694-1876 Hanebo, 1877-1906 Södra Hälsinglands östra, 1907-1947 Ala, 1948-1970 Södra Hälsinglands domsagas
Domsaga -1770 Hälsingland, 1771-1906 Hälsinglands södra, 1907-1970 Sydöstra Hälsinglands, 1971- Sydöstra Hälsinglands tingsrätts, 1972- Bollnäs tingsrätts
Fögderi 1720-1917 Södra Hälsingland, 1918- Söderhamns fögderi
Länsmansdistrikt Skog
Kronofogdedistrikt add here
Kommun 1863-1970 Skog (gb), 1971- Söderhamn
Militär indelning 1:a Norrlands 1:a Kompani
Nya Ord. Båtsmans-Roteringen
Extra Båtsmans-Roteringen
FamilySearch I.D. 6372358
NAD Ref Code SE/HLA/1010178


Place Names

Bastnäs, Bodarne, Böhle (Böle),
Elgnäs (Älgnäs), Elgnäset,
Fallet,
Granön, Gullgrufvan, Gullgruva bruk,
Hamnäs, Henninge, Hernebo (see Härnebo), Hunsbo, Håkanbo, Härnebo,
Jerfsböhle, Järvsböle,
Kallbäck,
Lingbo, Långblå, Långbo, Löftjära, Löthen (Löten), Lövtjära,
Magmyran, Mörtebo,
Norrbo, Nygården,
Prestgården (Prästgården),
Själstuga, Småströmmarna, Strand, Stråtjära, Sunnäs Bruk (Sunnäsbruk), Sunnäs by,
Tvärån, Tönnebro, Tönnerbro bruk, Tönnånger, Tönshammars bruk,
Älgnäs,

Vid Kyrkan

Sweden 1951 Place Names Register and the Swedish Parish Pages list in this Wiki will give you searchable lists of places, particularly parishes and the farms within those parishes.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Gävleborg Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a Family History Center near you. Click on "Places within Sweden, Gävleborg" and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies

References

Skog parish, Husförhörslängd AI:9a and AI:9b 1836-1845, Ort register.

Jurisdictional Information from: Riksarkivet. "Skog Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). April 2015 http://www.nad.riksarkivet.se/