Gaffney South Carolina Family History Center

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
FamilySearch This article describes the services and resources available at a Family History Center, a branch facility of the Family History Library.


Southcarolinagaffneyfhc.jpg

Center Contacts and Hours

Location Map: Location Map

Address: 701 W Buford St Gaffney, SC 29341

Language: English

Phone: 864-498-1740 or 864-498-2615

E-mail: sc_gaffney@ldsmail.net

Open Hours:

  • Tuesday: 10:00am-6:00pm
  • Wednesday: 6:00pm-9:00pm
  • Thursday: 10:00am-6:00pm
  • Saturday: 10:00am-2:00pm

Holiday Schedule:

Closed 4th July week, Thanksgiving week, 2 weeks at Christmas & thru New Years

Calendar and Events

Upcoming Events

Class Schedule

Staff Training Meetings

Center Resources

Collections

  • FamilySearch Catalog: This center has the ability to order any of the films and fiche available through the FamilySearch Catalog.
  • Patrons' Microfiche Collection -- a collection of fiche ordered by our patrons, assorted titles. Contain family histories, vital records, and other types of information.
  • Indefinite Film Collection -- a collection of films on a variety of subjects, to include vital records, county records, court records, etc.
  • Book Collection: --

Databases and Software

  • FHC Portal This center has access to the Family History Center Portal page which gives free access in the center to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
  • Ancestry -- Ancestry gives you access to thousands of collections of records from around the world, including immigration, census, voter, vital, and military records; newspapers and periodicals; family trees; photos and images; directories, maps, court, land, wills and financial records, stories, memories, and histories; and detailed records about births, marriages, deaths, land ownership, and much more. It is the largest for-profit genealogy company in the world. All family history centers have access to Ancestry.com Library. This site has 10+ billion records. U. S. federal and state census records, vital records, passenger lists, Canadian census, church, and vital records, UK census records, birth, marriage and death indexes, and other international records.

Hardware and Equipment

  • computers, microfilm readers, printer

Center Services

Staff Research Specialties

(Include sections for any other services your center provides. Add additional sections for those services. See the Bountiful and Chattanooga FHC pages for examples.)

Resources in the Local Area

Free access to Ancestry.com worldwide! Gaffney Ledger obituaries, Shuford-Hatcher Mortuary records, Gordon Mortuary records, Harrelson Mortuary records, McKinney-Landreth Funeral Home records! Cherokee county marriage licenses July 1911 - December 1950, index July 1911 - May 1933! Cherokee County Cemetery tombstone pictures! Cherokee Times newspaper obituaries 1922-1928! Leonardo Andrea Collection. Microfiche DAR records! N.C. Bible records! S.C. Death Certificates on microfilm 1915- 1955. S.C. & N.C. death certificates on line through Ancestry.com

Links

(Include links to other websites of interest to those who visit your center such as links to the city, county and state wiki pages where your center is located.)

Volunteer at the Center

(Include information here about the volunteers you are looking for.)