Gage County, Nebraska Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Gage County, Nebraska)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Nebraska


Gage County


Gage County, Nebraska
Map
Map of Nebraska highlighting Gage County
Location in the state of Nebraska
Map of the U.S. highlighting Nebraska
Location of Nebraska in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 16, 1855
County Seat Beatrice
Courthouse
px
Address Gage County Courthouse
612 Grant Street, P.O. Box 429
Beatrice, NE 68310-0429
Phone: 402.223.1300
County Website


Gage County, Nebraska genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.


{{{link}}}

County Information

Gage County, Nebraska Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1855 1860 1855 1855

County Courthouse


County Judge has marriage and probate records from 1860. Clerk District Court has divorce records. [2]

History

Parent County

1855 Gage County was created 16 March 1855 as an original county. County seat: Beatrice [3]

Description

Gage County is located in the far south east corner of the state; created by the territorial assembly in 1855.[4] It was named for W.D. Gage, a Methodist minister. [5]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places [6]

Cities
Villages
  • Adams
  • Barneston
  • Clatonia
  • Cortland
  • Filley
  • Liberty
  • Odell
  • Pickrell
  • Virginia
Census-designated place
Unincorporated communities
Townships
  • Adams
  • Barneston
  • Blakely
  • Blue Springs-Wymore
  • Clatonia
  • Elm
  • Filley
  • Glenwood
  • Grant
  • Hanover
  • Highland
  • Holt
  • Hooker
  • Island Grove
  • Liberty
  • Lincoln
  • Logan
  • Midland
  • Nemaha
  • Paddock
  • Riverside
  • Rockford
  • Sherman
  • Sicily

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NEGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
NEGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Nebraska Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See Nebraska Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1860 421
1870 3,359 697.9%
1880 13,164 291.9%
1890 36,344 176.1%
1900 30,051 −17.3%
1910 30,325 0.9%
1920 29,721 −2.0%
1930 30,242 1.8%
1940 29,588 −2.2%
1950 28,052 −5.2%
1960 26,818 −4.4%
1970 25,731 −4.1%
1980 24,456 −5.0%
1990 22,794 −6.8%
2000 22,993 0.9%
2010 22,311 −3.0%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Gage County, Nebraska Genealogy census records online, see: Nebraska Census.

State Census Records
Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Nebraska starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Nebraska Census.

Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.

Lutheran

Beatrice

Zion Lutheran Church, Pickerel

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


For more information see Nebraska Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Gage County, Nebraska Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Negage.png

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War
WWI

Newspapers

For information on Nebraska newspapers, see Nebraska Newspapers. Nebraska Newspapers Online

Nebraska Newspaper Catalogs

Probate

In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - Gage - Probate records.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Marriage Records

Online Marriage Records Indexes and Images

Societies and Libraries

County, Township and City Societies

  • Peru Historical Foundation
    Fifth and California Street
    P.O. Box 195
    Peru, NE 68421
    Phone: 402-872-6875

Libraries

Family History Centers

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 452-465. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Gage County, Nebraska page 430, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. http://genealogytrails.com/neb/gage/ accessed 10/27/2016
  5. https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gage_County,_Nebraska accessed 10/27/2016
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Gage County, Nebraska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gage_County,_Nebraska, accessed 1 August 2016.
  7. 7.0 7.1 "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.
Retrieved from "https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Gage_County,_Nebraska_Genealogy&oldid=2775803"