Galley Hill, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Galley Hill, Kent)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent

Guide to Galley Hill, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History

Parish was formed in 1883 from Swanscombe, Kent

Galley Hill All Saints

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Galley Hill, Kent Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[1]
MED = Medway Ancestors - free[2]
Galley Hill, Kent Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1885-1970
1895-1955

MED 1885-1946 1895-1954

Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  2. 'Medway Ancestors Imagebase: list of parishes, in alphabetical order', Cityark, accessed 8 November 2013.