Gambia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Gambia)
Jump to: navigation, search

Africa Gotoarrow.png Gambia

Gambia Wiki Topics
Flag of The Gambia.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Gambia Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Gambia ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

Gambia is a country in Africa mostly surrounded by Senegal. It was formerly a colony of Great Britain and was known as British Gambia. The official language is English.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Gambia Research

Links to articles on getting started with Gambia research.

Gambia Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Gambia research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Gambia Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Gambia. Gambia map Divisions districts.png

1. Banjul
2 .Kanifing
3. Kombo North
4. Kombo South
5. Kombo Central
6. Kombo East

7. Foni Brefet
8. Foni Bintang-Karenai
9. Foni Kansala
10. Foni Bondali
11. Foni Jarrol
12. Kiang West

13. Kiang Central
14. Kiang East
15. Jarra West
16. Jarra Central
17. Jarra East
18. Lower Niumi

19.Upper Niumi
20. Jokadu
21. Lower Baddibu
22. Central Baddibu
23. Upper Baddibu
24. Lower Saloum

25.Niamina Dankunku
26. Niamina West
27. Upper Saloum
28. Niamina East
29. Nianija
30. Niani

31. Fulladu West
32. Sami
33. Janjanbureh
34. Sandu
35. Fulladu East
36. Wuli
37. Kantora

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.


  1. Wikipedia contributors, “The Gambia,” in ‘’Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,’’, accessed 29 April 2016.