Gamla Uppsala parish, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search


Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwedenGotoarrow.pngUppsala County Gotoarrow.png Gamla Uppsala parish


Guide to Gamla Uppsala parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Back to Sweden

History

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

Gamla Uppsala
Jurisdictions
Stift Uppsala ärkestift, 1989- Uppsala
Pastorat -1923 Gamla Uppsala, 1923-1961 Gamla Uppsala and Ärentuna, 1962- Gamla Uppsala
Län 1634- Uppsala
Landskap Uppland
Härad Vaksala
Tingslag -1903 Vaksala härad, 1904-1946 Tiunda, 1947-1970 Uppsala stad (under rådhusrätten)
Domsaga 1680-1714 see Bälinge, 1715-1926 Uppsala läns mellersta, 1927-1946 Uppsala läns södra, 1947-1970 Uppsala (under rådhusrätten), 1971- Uppsala
Fögderi 1720-1878 Fjärde, 1879-1885 Tredje, 1886-1917 Uppsala läns mellersta, 1918-1946 Tiunda, 1947-1966 Uppsala stad (under uppbördsväsendet), 1967- Uppsala
Länsmansdistrikt -1917 Vaksala härad
Kronofogdedistrikt 1965- Uppsala
Kommun 1863-1946 Gamla Uppsala, 1947-1970 Uppsala stad, 1971- Uppsala
Militär indelning Lif-Regementets Dragon-Corps: Norra Uplands Sqvadron, Norra Uplands Kompani, Uplands Regemente: Rasbo Kompani, Extra Soldat-Roteringen, Upplands Regemente: Rasbo kompani, - 1791 Livregementet till Häst: Norra Upplands kompani, 1791 - 1815 Livregementsbrigadens Kyrassiärkår: Norra Upplands skvadron, 1815 - Livregementets Dragonkår (Dragoner): Norra Upplands skvadron
FamilySearch I.D. 6372522
NAD Ref Code SE/ULA/10318


Place Names

Backgården, Björkby, Bredåker, Bärby Dragontorp, Dufboda, Ekeby, Ensta, Fattighuset, Faxan, Fullerö, Gamla Upsala by, Gökulla, Hemringe, Husby, Johannisberg, Krokeke, Kungsgården, Lundboda, Lälunda,Lötgården, Myrby, Mälby, Nyboda, Nyby, Prestgården, Soldattorp, Stjerna (Skärna), Storbyn, Storbyns Ägor, Tunaberg, Valsgärde, Velamsboda, Vädergärde, Ärna

Sweden 1951 Place Names Register and the Swedish Parish Pages list in this Wiki will give you searchable lists of places, particularly parishes and the farms within those parishes.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Uppsala Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a Family History Center near you. Click on "Places within Sweden, Uppsala and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies

References

Jurisdictional information from: Riksarkivet, Gamla Uppsala församling, at Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). October 2011.

Gamla Uppsala, Husförhörslängd 1841-1845, Ortregister