Gard, France Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Gard)
Jump to: navigation, search

EuropeGotoarrow.pngFrance Gotoarrow.png Gard

Guide to Gard, France ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

History

Gard is one of the original 83 departments created during the French Revolution on March 4, 1790. It was created from the ancient province of Languedoc.

Communes

Church Records and Civil Registration

The vast majority of your research will be in church records and civil registration. Fortunately, these records are available online from the archives of each department.

Finding Church Records and Civil Registration Online

  • The parish registers and civil registration for Gard have been microfilmed, but not digitized. The best way to access them is to visit your nearest Family History Center, where microfilms may be ordered for reading for a small fee.
a. Click on this link to see a list of records for France, Gard.
b. Click on "Places within France, Gard" and a list of towns and cities will open.
c. Click on the town or city you wish to search.
d. Click on "Civil Registration" topic. Click on the blue links to specific record titles.
e. Choose the correct event and time period for your ancestor.
f. Some combination of these icons will appear at the far right of the microfilm listed for the record. FHL icons.png. The magnifying glass indicates that the microfilm is indexed. Clicking on the magnifying glass will take you to the index. Clicking on the camera will take you to an online digital copy of the microfilm. Clicking on the microfilm reel will lead to information on how to rent the film. Family History Center staff will assist you in ordering the film.


  • Within France, microfilms can be borrowed directly from the Archives of Gard Department through a local library. Click here for instructions.
  • The following records are made available online by the municipal archives for Nimes and Alès:

Search Terms

  • Registres paroissiaux (parish registers)
  • Registres d'état civil (civil registration)
  • Censuses (recensements)


See Using France Online Department Archives for step by step instructions on finding and reading these records.

Search Strategy

  • Search for the relative or ancestor you selected. When you find his birth record, search for the births of his brothers and sisters.
  • Next, search for the marriage of his parents. The marriage record will have information that will often help you find the birth records of the parents.
  • You can estimate the ages of the parents and search for their birth records.
  • Search the death registers for all family members.
  • Then repeat the whole process for both the father and the mother.
  • If earlier generations are not in the record, search neighboring parishes.


How to Read the Records

Learning to Read Enough French to Do Genealogy

  • It's easier than you think! You do not have to be fluent in French to use these records, as there is only a limited vocabulary used in them. By learning a few key phrases, you will be able to read them adequately. Here are some resources for learning to read French records.
French Genealogical Word List
French Handwriting.
  • There is a three-lesson course in reading French Records:
Reading French Handwritten Records Lesson 1: The French Alphabet,
Reading French Handwritten Records Lesson 2: Key Words and Phrases
Reading French Handwritten Records Lesson 3: Reading French Records

Societies

du Languedoc
18 rue de la Tannerie
31400 TOULOUSE
France

Union des généalogistes du Gard (UGG)
43 rue de Beaucaire
30000 NIMES
France

Généalogie en Uzège et Gard
Archives Municipales
30701 UZES CEDEX
France

Cercle Aramonais d'Histoire et de Généalogie
cours victor hugo
30390 Aramon
France

Association des Chercheurs et Généalogistes des Cévennes
HAMEAU-VILLESQUE
30610 ST-JEAN DE CRIEULON
Telephone: 04 66 77 39 66
E-mail:acgc@laposte.net
Website:http://site.acgc.free.fr

Cercle Généalogique Gard-Lozère (CGGL)
Address for mail: Cercle Généalogique Gard - Lozère (CGGL)
384, chemin de Maza
30350 CARDET
France
Address: Cercle Généalogique Gard - Lozère (CGGL)
1er étage de l'ancienne poste, place de la mairie
30350 CARDET, rance

Websites

Family History Centers

Introduction to Family History Centers

Centre d' Histoire Familiale Nîmes
55 chemin du Mas de Vignolles
NIMES,France
Telephone:+33 4-6629-7482

Centre d' Histoire Familiale d'Avignon
18 avenue Charles de Gaulle
84130 LE PONTET, FRANCE

Centre d' Histoire Familiale de Montpellier
66 rue Daunou, Angle route de Lavérune
34070 MONTPELLIER, FRANCE
Telephone:+33 -4-67079319
ouvert les jeudis 18:00-21:00 heures

Centre d' Histoire Familiale de Vitrolles
La Petite Garrigue Avenue Salyens
131127 Vitrolles, France

Centre d' Histoire Familiale d'Aix-En-Provence
8 Avenue Marius Jouveau
13090 AIX-EN-PROVENCE, FRANCE
Telephone:+33 4-4221-2140