Garland County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Garland County, Arkansas)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Garland County

Downtown Hot Springs, Garland County, Arkansas

Guide to Garland County, Arkansas ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.




Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records


Garland County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Garland County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded April 5, 1873
County Seat Hot Springs
Courthouse
ArkansasGarlandCourthouse.jpg
Address Garland County Courthouse
501 Ouachita Avenue
Hot Springs, AR 71901
Phone: 501.622.3610


County Courthouse

Garland County Courthouse
501 Ouachita Avenue
Hot Springs, AR 71901
Phone: 501.622.3610

County Clerk has marriage and probate records. Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, court and land records[1]

Beginning years for Garland County, Arkansas Genealogy government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1874 1914* 1874 1873 1877
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Government and Related Websites

County Government and other Local Websites
County-clerk.net (unofficial site) Clerks have jurisdiction over birth certificates, death certificates, marriage licenses, land use, land rights, real estate, and other court records. Site provides links to unofficial websites with online records
PublicRecords.com (unofficial site) Provides links to County officials and public records

History

Parent County

  • 1873--Garland County was created 5 April 1873 from Saline County. County seat: Hot Springs[3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Variant Spellings

Record Loss

1905 On February 25, 1905 a fire damaged or destroyed everything except tax books of 1904. Some records have been reconstructed as much as possible, particularly deed and mortgage books.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Hot Spring  • Montgomery  • Perry  • Saline  • Yell

Garland CountySaline CountyGrant CountyHot Spring CountyPike CountyMontgomery CountyYell CountyLogan CountyPerry CountyFaulkner CountyPulaski CountyDallas CountyClark CountyHoward CountyPolk CountyScott CountyFranklin CountyPope CountyConway CountyARGarland.JPG


History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Garland County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [4]

  • 1682-1762 - France claimed all of Arkansas.
  • 1762 - France ceded Louisiana (including the area that became Garland County) to Spain.
  • 1803 April 30 - Emperor Napoleon Bonaparte and U.S. President Thomas Jefferson agreed on the Louisiana Purchase. For about three cents an acre, the future Garland County became part of a U.S. territory.
  • 1818 August 24 - The Quapaw ceded the land around Hot Springs to the United States.
  • 1860-1865 - The county was never occupied by Union troops, but almost the entire population fled to Texas and Louisiana. The citizens feared not only the soldiers but the renegade bands that would terrorize and destroy much of the county.
  • 1873-1900 - Tremendous change occurred in the county.

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Online Garland County, Arkansas cemeteries
from state and national resources
Search for names of people
in Garland County
Get a list of cemeteries
(then click to names of people)
Find printed records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, enter a name, click "Search"
  • Billion Graves Enter a name and click "Search" (Statewide. Can search by county, but many with no results.)
  • Find A Grave Click Search for a Cemetery on the right, click All Countries - click United States, click State, click County and search.

More cemetery lists

Census

Church Records

Episcopal
  • 1878-1942 - St. Lukes Episcopal Church, Hot Spring, Baptism Index 1878-1942. Batch C586801 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
  • 1878-1895 - St. Lukes Episcopal Church, Hot Spring, Marriage Index 1878-1895. Batch M586801 at FamilySearch - free.
Methodist
  • 1874-1887 - First Methodist Church Baptism Index 1874-1887. Batch C586791 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
  • 1876-1884 - First Methodist Church Marriage Index 1876-1884. Batch M586791 at FamilySearch - free.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

  • Biographical and Historical Memoirs of Pulaski, Jefferson, Lonoke, Faulkner, Grant, Saline, Perry, Garland, and Hot Spring Counties, Arkansas. Chicago, Nashville, and St. Louis, USA: Goodspeed Publishing, 1889. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)

Maps

Military

Civil War

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Garland County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Occupations

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Garland County, Arkansas Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. For towns, click here.
WorldCat Click an item for libraries near you. For more information, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Located in Indiana, they are heavily involved in digitizing much of their collection.
Arkansas History Commission Select the county Arkansas state agency involved in organizing, digitizing, and maintaining the records of state and local history.
Local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries may suggest other catalogs

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
RootsWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Garland County, Arkansas Genealogy
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records


Social networking sites pertaining to Garland County, Arkansas Genealogy
genealogy.com Garland County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Garland County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 67.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Charles William Cunning, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=770&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent= : accessed January 13, 2016), “Garland County.”
  5. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.
  6. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0d/Igiarkansasem.pdf.