Gauteng Province, South Africa Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Africa Gotoarrow.png South Africa Gotoarrow.png Gauteng

Guide to Gauteng Province, South Africa Genealogy ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.


Historical Overview

History

Gauteng means 'Place of Gold' in the Sotho languages. It is the smallest province in South Africa, but also the richest and most crowded. More Gauteng history can be found online at the South Africa History Online website.

Wikipedia article for the Gauteng Jurisdiction.

Localities

Inforamaion about some of the major cities within the Gauteng Province can be found at http://www.southafrica.com/gauteng/

List of cities and towns in Gauteng

Maps and gazetteers

A comprehensive set of maps of the Gauteng Province can be found at this link.

Records

Cemeteries

Grave stone images from graveyards in Gauteng. This is part of the Genealogical Society of South Africa (parent body of eGGSA) National Cemetery Recording Project.

Map of cemeteries near Gauteng

Find A Grave records for Gauteng, South Africa

Census

2011 South Africa Census. This population census is a total count of the country's population, where demographic, social and economic information is gathered about the people who live in the country. Statistics specific to Gauteng can be found in this report.

Church records

Dutch Reformed Church (NGK)
Dutch Reformed Church (NHK)
Reformed Church (GK)
Methodist
Anglican
Catholic
Others

Civil Registration

Births, marriages, and deaths began to be registered in 1901.[1]

Emigration

Genealogy

Land records

Occupations

Probate records

See here for a description of what death notices are and where they are located.

School records

Tax records

Websites

Further Reading

References

  1. The Family History Department of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, “Family History Record Profile: Southern Africa,” Word document, private files of the FamilySearch Content Strategy Team, 1987-1998.