Gaydon, Warwickshire Genealogy
|Poor Law Union||Southam|
|Parish registers: 1701; For more records see Chadshunt|
|Bishop's Transcripts: For more records see Chadshunt|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Prebend of Bishop's Itchington|
|Location of Archive|
|Warwickshire County Record Office|
Gaydon, is a chapelry, in the parish of Bishop's Itchington, the union of Southam, and the hundred of Kington, Warwickshire, it is 2 miles N E from Kington. The chapel is dedicated to St. Giles. The inhabitants marry and bury at Chadshunt, which is a chapelry within the same parish.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Gaydon, Warwickshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).|
|Gaydon, Warwickshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464173.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 283-287] Adapted. Date accessed November 13, 2014.
- 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812,', Ancestry, accessed 17 June 2014.
- 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 1 July 2014.