Gedney, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Gedney, Lincolnshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Gedney, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Gedney, Lincolnshire
St+Mary+Magdalene Gedney Lincolnshire.JPG
St+Mary+Magdalene Gedney Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Elloe
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Holbeach
Registration District Holbeach
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1561
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Holland
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Parish History

Gedney St Mary Magdalene is an Ancient parish which includes the chapelry of Gedney Hill, Lincolnshire and Dawsmere, Drove End, Chapelgate, and Clark's Hill.

The church is 13th century in origin and is known as "The Cathedral of the Fens".

In recent years it has lost several windows due to vandalism including a 14th century stained glass window.

The village and civil parish also included two Wesleyan Methodist chapels at Gedney and Gedney Dyke and a Baptist chapel at Gedney Broadgate.

GEDNEY (St. Mary Magdalene), a parish, in the union of Holbeach, wapentake of Elloe, parts of Holland, county of Lincoln, 11 miles (N. W.) from Wisbech. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was in the Long Sutton sub-district of Holbeach registration district.

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives, St Rumbold Street,Lincoln,Lincolnshire,LN2 5AB,England Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Gedney Drove End Par 1 and Gedney Par 1 will identify available images.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Gedney


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438752.


See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Holbeach Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire



Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Gedney/

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 287-291. Date accessed: 21 August 2013.