Gentry County, Missouri Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Gentry County, Missouri)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Gentry County

Guide to Gentry County, Missouri ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}




Gentry County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 12, 1841
County Seat Albany
Courthouse
MissouriGentryCourthouse.jpg
Address Gentry County Courthouse
200 Clay Street
Albany, MO 64402-1499
Phone: 660.726.3525
Gentry County Website


County Information

Gentry County, Missouri Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1867 1859 1883 1830 1859 1859

County Courthouse


County Clerk has birth and death records 1883-1893
and marriage records from 1885; Clerk Circuit Court
has divorce, court and land records from 1885; Circuit 
Court division 2, has probate records from 1885[2]

History

Parent County

1841--Gentry County was created 12 February 1841 from Clinton County. County seat: Albany [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1883 Courthouse was destroyed by a windstorm on July 13, 1883. Some early records were lost.

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Andrew  • Daviess  • Dekalb  • Harrison  • Nodaway  • Worth

Gentry CountyWorth CountyMercer CountyGrundy CountyLivingston CountyHarrison CountyDaviess CountyCaldwell CountyClinton CountyNodaway CountyTaylor CountyBuchanan CountyAndrew CountyHolt CountyPage CountyDoniphan CountyDecatur CountyWayne CountyRinggold CountyDeKalb CountyMOGentry1.JPG


Resources

Cemeteries

Carnegie Library Gentry County Cemetery Transcriptions

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Gentry County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • Leopard, John C. History of Daviess and Gentry counties, Missouri. Topeka, Kan. : Historical Pub. Co., 1922.
  • The History of Gentry and Worth counties, Missouri. St. Joseph, Missouri : National Historical, 1882.

Maps

Mogentry.jpg

Military

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Gentry County, Missouri Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Gentry County, Missouri Genealogy:


- 1st Battalion, Enrolled Missouri Militia, 6 months (Union), Company A
- 1st Battalion, Enrolled Missouri Militia, 6 months (Union), Company B
- 1st Battalion, Enrolled Missouri Militia, 6 months (Union), Company C
- 35th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company G
- 1st Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company M
- 31st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 31st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 31st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 31st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 31st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 31st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 31st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
- 31st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company L
- 31st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company M
- 3rd Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
- 31st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company K

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Gentry County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
Marriages
Deaths

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Web Sites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Gentry County, Missouri Genealogy
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Missouri Genealogy Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Gentry County, Missouri Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Gentry County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Gentry County, Missouri Genealogy
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
Ancestry.com Gentry County Message Board

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 422-438. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Gentry County, Missouri. Page 400 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).