Georgia (country) Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Georgia (country))
Jump to: navigation, search

Asia Gotoarrow.png Georgia (country)

Georgia Wiki Topics
Flag of Georgia.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Georgia Background
Local Research Resources


Guide to Georgia ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

This article is about the Eurasian country. For the southern U.S. state, see Georgia (state).

Country Information

Georgia is a country in Eurasia bordered by Russia, Turkey, Armenia, and Azerbaijan. It was formerly ruled by Russia and the Soviet Union. The official language is Georgian.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Georgia Research

Links to articles on getting started with Georgia research.

Georgia Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Georgia research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Georgia Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Georgia. Georgia (country) counties.png

Jurisdictions

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Georgia. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.

Regions of Georgia:

  • Guria
  • Imereti
  • Kakheti
  • Kvemo Kartli
  • Mtskheta-Mtianeti
  • Racha-Lechkhumi and Kvemo Svaneti
  • Samegrelo-Zemo Svaneti
  • Samtskhe-Javakheti
  • Shida Kartli

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, “Georgia (country),” in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,’’ https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Georgia_(country), accessed 29 April 2016.