Germany Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.png Germany

Germany Research Topics
Muehlhausen Thueringen .jpg
Beginning Research
Record Types
Germany Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Moderator
The FamilySearch moderator for Germany is Baerbel


Guide to German ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Country Information

Germany is a country in Western and Central Europe that borders Denmark, Poland, the Czech Republic, Austria, Switzerland, France, Luxembourg, Belgium, and the Netherlands. The territory of Germany has varied considerably over the centuries. Until 1871 Germany consisted of numerous independent kingdoms, duchies, principalities, and states, whose borders often changed and merged. These changes often make it difficult to determine which archives may have the particular records you need. In 1871 all German-speaking states except the Austrian states were consolidated into the German Empire under the leadership of Preußen.[1]

Place-names and county, province, and state jurisdictions have also changed, often more than once. Because of these changes, you may not be able to find the name of your German ancestor's town on a modern map. You may also have trouble determining the jurisdiction where their records were kept. Various resources are available to help you find that information.

Getting Started

Getting Started with Germany Research

Links to articles on getting started with German research.

See More Research Strategies

Germany Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in United States research.

See More Research Tools


{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg


Modern Map of Germany

Dark thin font green pin Version 4.png

If you already know the name of the town/city/village, you should consult a gazetteer for more details, especially the name of the Catholic or Evangelical parish it belonged to. See Meyer's Gazetteer or a a regional online gazetteer.



Schleswig-HolsteinMecklenburg-VorpommernBremenLower Saxony (Niedersachsen)Saxony-Anhalt (Sachsen-Anhalt)BerlinBrandenburgNorth Rhine-Westphalia (Nordrhein-WestfalenHessenThüringen (Thuringia)SaxonyRhineland-Palatinate (Rheinland-Pfalz)SaarlandBaden-WürttembergBavaria (Bayern)Modern Germany map.png
About this image


Modern German States (since 1945/1990)


The Unification of Germany 1864-1871 Map

Dark thin font green pin Version 4.png

If you already know the name of the town/city/village, you should consult a gazetteer for more details, especially the name of the Catholic or Evangelical parish it belonged to. See Meyer's Gazetteer or a a regional online gazetteer.



Many states are too small to make clickable. You will need to access them from the list after the map.


Schleswig-HolsteinHannoverMecklenburg-SchwerinLübeckHamburgBremenPomerania (Pommern)West Prussia (Westpreußen)East Prussia (Ostpreußen)PosenBrandenburgMecklenburg-StrelitzSaxony (Sachsen)AnhaltBrunswick (Braunschweig)LippeWestphalia (Westfalen)WaldeckRhineland (Rheinland)Hessen-NassauHessen|OldenburgSaxony (Sachsen)Alsace-Lorraine (Elsass-Lothringen)Bavaria (Bayern)Bavaria (Bayern)BadenWürttembergNew Germany map.png
About this image



States

City/States

Prussian States

Thuringian States

Dark thin font green pin Version 4.png

If you already know the name of the town/city/village, you should consult a gazetteer for more details, especially the name of the Catholic or Evangelical parish it belonged to. See Meyer's Gazetteer or a a regional online gazetteer.


Former Germany Territories

Germany's boundaries were impacted by their losses of World War I and World War II. The treaties (1919 for World War I and 1945 for World War II) ending those wars had to deal with the disposition of lands annexed by Hitler, but also to resolve some disputes that had waged for the previous century. Many of the border states of Germany had mixed populations (most notably Germans and Polish people). Frequently, the return of lands was accompanied by expulsion of German citizens from the area.

  • Records for a former German area are now kept in repositories of the new country.
    • Once you locate the state and town in a gazetteer, you should find a detailed map. Detailed maps, which are useful if you must expand your search to neighboring towns, will usually be found under the former German name.
  • Internet searches for maps could use either place name.
  • For microfilmed records in the FamilySearch catalog, look under both the German place name or the current place name.
  • If the records you need are not microfilmed, you may need to write to a church or an archive for them. Then you will use the locality's modern location to find an address.
  • See Finding Parish Registers for Germany Areas Now in Other Countries.
  • For more detailed maps of territory reclaimed by Poland in 1945, see Recovered Territories.


North SchleswigMemelFree City of DanzigFree City of DanzigPomeraniaUpper SilesiaSilesiaHultschiner LaendchenWest PrussiaPosenWest PrussiaSouthern East PrussiaSilesiaNorthern East PrussiaHultschiner LaendchenPomeraniaSilesiaAlsace-LorrainePomeraniaMalmedy-EupenAlsace-LorraineAlsace-LorraineCountries formerly in Germany.png
About this image

List of Former German Territories, the Date of the Boundary Change, and the Current Country

Alsace-Lorraine (Elsass-Lothringen), 1919:France
East Prussia, 1945:

Memel Territory, Memelland or Memelgebiet, north of the Neman River and including the city of Klaipėda, occupied by Lithuania in 1923, occupied by Germany 1939-1945.

Eupen-Malmédy, 1919: Belgium
Free City of Danzig, 1945: Russia
North Schleswig, 1919: Denmark
Pomerania, 1945:

Posen, 1919: Wielkie Księstwo Poznańskie, Poland
Silesia (Schlesien),1945:


Upper Silesia, 1919: Poland
West Prussia, 1919: Pomeranian Voivodeship, Poland

More Germany Research Strategies

Research strategies give guidance on how to research or what records to search for first. Below are additional research strategy wiki articles for Germany.

More Germany Research Tools

Research tools can include resources that assist in locating correct records to search and determining the correct locality to search in. Below are links and Wiki articles to research tools in Germany.

  • Pdf Archive Inventory Part 1 of 2: Church records in Archives" - an inventory of localities and the location or archive where the records should be found.
  • The list of archives with addresses, Part 2 of 2, which correspond to the localities list, can be found at this link Archive Addresses Please note that in the second column, with the heading of "key" matches the Archive "number" in the first link which contains the database.
  • Germany Genealogy Resources from Federation of East European Family History Societies (FEEFHS)
  • The Kirchenbuchportal (church book portal) website was created by the Association of Church Archives to facilitate access to German-language church records in 2009. By July 2010 several archives had posted detailed inventories of the parish registers in their collections. By September 2014 this plan had evolved into a project carried out by twelve Evangelical state churches in Germany. Their records are now accessible at a new fee-based site called Archion.
  • Hamburg Passenger Lists
  • Berlin Evangelical Central Archive Inventory Online - The Evangelical Central Archive in Berlin (EZAB) holds many Lutheran church records from Eastern areas, including Ostpreussen, Schlesien, Posen, Brandenburg, Pommern and Westpreussen. On the website the box titled "Familienforschung" (family history research) includes a link to the listing of accessible parish registers under "Kirchenbuch-Suche".


FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Germany," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Germany, accessed 23 March 2016.