Gers, France Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Gers)
Jump to: navigation, search
France Research Topics
Flag of France.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
France Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
Moderator
The FamilySearch moderator for France is SugdenHG
France
Gers
Gers-France.png

Guide to Gers ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers.

{{{link}}}

History

Gers is a department in the Occitanie region in the southwest of France named after the Gers River. It is one of the original 83 departments created during the French Revolution on 4 March 1790. It was created from parts of the former provinces of Guyenne and Gascony. In 1808 it lost Lavit on its north-eastern side to the newly created department of Tarn-et-Garonne. The department is surrounded by the departments of Hautes-Pyrénées, Haute-Garonne, Tarn-et-Garonne, Lot-et-Garonne, Landes, and Pyrénées-Atlantiques. Gers is among the least densely populated areas in all of Western Europe. (Wikipedia)

Localities (Communes)

Church Records and Civil Registration (Registres Paroissiaux et Etat Civil) Online

The vast majority of your research will be in church records and civil registration. For more information on these records and how to use them, read France Church Records and France Civil Registration. Gers is one of only three Departments of France that has not digitized and published images of these records.

Microfilmed Church Records

Microfilms of church records are available to search through a Family History Center.

  • The parish registers for Gers have been microfilmed, but not digitized. The best way to access them is to visit your nearest Family History Center, where microfilms may be ordered for reading for a small fee.
a. Click on this link to see a list of records for France, Gers.
b. Click on "Places within France, Gers" and a list of towns and cities will open.
c. Click on the town or city you wish to search.
d. Click on "Church Records" topic. Click on the blue links to specific record titles.
e. Choose the correct event and time period for your ancestor.
f. Some combination of these icons will appear at the far right of the microfilm listed for the record. FHL icons.png. The magnifying glass indicates that the microfilm is indexed. Clicking on the magnifying glass will take you to the index. Clicking on the camera will take you to an online digital copy of the microfilm. The microfilm icon indicates it is only available on microfilm and can be viewed at the Family History Library and some family history centers.

Civil Registration

Here is the website for the Department Archives of Gers, where you can write for these records.

Departmental Archives of the Gers
81 road Pessan
BP 21-32001 AUCH CEDEX
France

Online Census Records

Census records can support your search in civil and church records. They can help identify all family members. When families have similar names they help determine which children belong in each family. See France Census.

Online Local Databases and Extracted Records

Groups devoted to genealogy have also extracted and/or indexed records for specific localities, time periods, religious groups, etc. Since church records at the departmental archives are generally not indexed, you might find an index here that will speed up your searching.

Learning to Read Enough French to Do Genealogy

It's easier than you think! You do not have to be fluent in French to use these records, as there is only a limited vocabulary used in them. By learning a few key phrases, you will be able to read them adequately. Here are some resources for learning to read French records.

There is a three-lesson course in reading handwriting in old French records:

These lessons focus on reading church record and civil registration records:

Another resource is the French Records Extraction Manual, Full Manual. Much more is covered, but these first four lessons are especially useful.

Search Strategy

  • Search for the relative or ancestor you selected. When you find his birth record, search for the births of his brothers and sisters.
  • Next, search for the marriage of his parents. The marriage record will have information that will often help you find the birth records of the parents.
  • You can estimate the ages of the parents and search for their birth records.
  • Search the death registers for all known family members.
  • Repeat this process for both the father and the mother, starting with their birth records, then their siblings' births, then their parents' marriages, and so on.
  • If earlier generations (parents, grandparents, etc.) do not appear in the records, search neighboring parishes.


Genealogical Societies and Help Groups

Siège social: 1, bis avenue Lamartine
31100 Toulouse
France



  • Cercle Généalogique du Languedoc
18 rue de la Tannerie
31400 TOULOUSE
France
Téléphone : 05 62 26 15 30


Websites