Gestingthorpe, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Gestingthorpe, Essex)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Gestingthorpe, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Gestingthorpe, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hinckford
County Essex
Poor Law Union Sudbury
Registration District Sudbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1610
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629; 1639; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hedingham
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Gestingthorpe, or Guestingthorpe, is a village and a parish in the district of Sudbury and county of Essex. The village stands on a small affluent of the river Stour, it is 3 1/2 miles NNE of Castle Hedingbam railway station, and 4 1/2 miles WSW of Sudbury.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Gestingthorpe, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[5]
GESTINGTHORPE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1626-1800

ESSEX 1629-1847 1626-1957 1609-1993
FREG 1629-1738 1626-1754 1609-1737
PRTS
1626-1672, 1727-1837

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241370.


Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

Gestingthorpe on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870). Adapted: date accessed: 21 May 2013.
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, (WayBack Machine) accessed 3 March 2012.
  3. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 23 September 2014.
  4. Essex Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 19 April 2012.
  5. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.