Getinge parish, Sweden Genealogy
Guide to Getinge parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Back to Sweden►
- 1 History
- 2 Place Names
- 3 Collections
- 3.1 Census Records
- 3.2 Church Records
- 3.3 Military Records
- 3.4 Related Sources
- 3.5 Help Reading Swedish Records
- 3.6 Help Reading Old Handwriting
- 3.7 Help With Research Objectives and Strategies
- 3.8 References
The larger part of the church archive was destroyed by a fire in 1868.(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)
|Militär indelning||add here|
Algustorp no.4,5, Algustorp no.6, Blixgård no.1, Bolet no.1, Brännarp no.1 - no.4, Brännarp no.5 Brunsegård, Brännarp no.6 Helgagård, Brännarp no. 7 Risabacka, Brännarp no.8 Fålle, Bårarp no.3, Dals säteri, Eskilstorp no.1 Yttregård, Eskilstorp no.2 Mellangård, Eskilstorp no.3 Brogård, Fattighus, Folkastad no.1 - no.2, Folkastad no.3 Ågård, Folkastad no.4, Folkastad no. 5 Gunnesgård, Folkastad no.6 Gudmundsgård, Gunnesgård, Fostorp no.1, Fröllinge no.1, Galtaberg no.1, Getinge no.1 Prästgården, Getinge no.2 -no.3, Getinge no.4 Djäknebol, Getinge no.4 Skolhuset, Hem no.1, Hönryd no.1, Hörsås no.5 Norgården, Hörsås No.3, - no.4, Kållingehus, Lassared no.1, Lilla Berg no.1, Lågagård no.3, Mostorp no.1 - no.2, no.3, no.4, Nobistorpen under Fröllinge, Risarp no.1, Ryd no.1, Rävinge no.1 Stomgården, Rävinge no.2 Borgasgård, Folkskolan, Fattighuset, Rävinge no.3 Djäknebol, Rävinge no.4 Skåningsgård, Skylegård no.1, Stora Berg no.2, Stålarp no.1, Toften (Kärret, Grinnarebolet), Täckinge no.4 - no.5, Täckinge no.6 Kullagård, Täckinge no.7 Olofsgård, Täckinge no. 8 Skattegård, Täckinge no.9 Kronogård, Täckinge no.10 Skogsgård, Underlund no.1, no.2, Uppnora no. 1 Skogsgård, Uppnora no.2 Blommegård, Uppnora no.3 Pilagård, Uppnora no.4, Uppnora no.5 Börsingagård, Uppnora no.6 Lyckan, Uppnora no.7 Kärret, Uppnora no.8 & 9 Nygård, Uppnora no.10 , Vallanäs no.1, Vallanäs no.2, Vearp no.1, Väggarp no.1, Väggarp no.1, Kållingehus, Öinge no.1 Bonnagård, Örbäck no.1, Öringe no.1 - no.2, Örnakull no.1,
- Surrounding Parishes
- Sweden Household Examination Records (Husförhörslängder)--explanation of this church record which is functionally the census of Sweden.
- Sweden Household Examination Books, 1880 - 1920, ($), index and images. Also on Ancestry.com, ($), Arkiv Digital ($), and SVAR ($).
Online Database Church Records
The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)
- Sweden, Halland Church Records, 1615-1904; index 1615-1860, FamilySearch Historical Records.
- MyHeritage.com ($),
- Ancestry.com ($),
- Arkiv Digital ($), and
- SVAR ($).
Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden
- These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:
Family History Library Records
Click Sweden, Halland Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a Family History Center near you. Click on "Places within Sweden, Halland" and then select your parish.
Help Reading Swedish Records
- You do not have to be fluent in Swedish to read these records! The have a limited vocabulary: mother, father, born, bride, groom, married, etc. The rest of the content will be names, dates, and places, which do not need translation.
- This Swedish Word List covers typical terms found in the records.
- Swedish Historical Dictionary Database, SHDD: This interactive dictionary allows you to enter a word in the search box and receive the translation.
- Feast Day Calendar (Moveable) and Feast Day Lists (Fixed and Moveable) will help you translate dates written in feast day form.
- Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Sweden Names, Personal.
- For help with reading the column headings found in more recent records, see Swedish Parish Register and Household Exam Roll Headings.
- Instructions, document examples, and translations are given for Reading Swedish Birth and Christening Records 1717, 1752, 1771, 1792, 1803, 1834, 1854.
Help Reading Old Handwriting
- Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records: (free, online lessons at FamilySearch):
Help With Research Objectives and Strategies
Getinge Församling Husförhörslängd 1866 - 1872 Ortregister