Gilpin County, Colorado Genealogy
Guide to Gilpin County, Colorado ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
- 1 County Information
- 2 Resources
- 2.1 Bible Records
- 2.2 Biographies
- 2.3 Business, Commerce, and Occupations
- 2.4 Cemeteries
- 2.5 Census Records
- 2.6 Church Records
- 2.7 Court Records
- 2.8 Directories
- 2.9 Emigration and Immigration
- 2.10 Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups
- 2.11 Funeral Homes
- 2.12 Genealogies
- 2.13 Guardianship
- 2.14 Land and Property Records
- 2.15 Local Histories
- 2.16 Maps and Gazetteers
- 2.17 Migration
- 2.18 Military Records
- 2.19 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 2.20 Newspapers
- 2.21 Obituaries
- 2.22 Other Records
- 2.23 Periodicals
- 2.24 Probate Records
- 2.25 School Records
- 2.26 Tax Records
- 2.27 Vital Records
- 3 Research Facilities
- 4 Societies
- 5 Websites
- 6 Research Guides
- 7 References
Gilpin County Courthouse
203 Eureka Street
PO Box 366
Central City, CO 80427-0366
Gilpin County Website
Gilpin and Jefferson County Vital Records
800 Jefferson County Parkway
Golden, CO 80419
County Clerk has marriage records from 1881 and land records from 1861;
Clerk District Court had divorce and probate records
Gilpin County, Colorado Record Dates
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
The following are locations in Gilpin County, Colorado:
Business, Commerce, and Occupations
State and Territory Census Records
- 1860-1940 Colorado Census Records from 1860 to 1940 at FamilySearch.org — index/images
- 1885 - Colorado State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch - Index and images
- 1885 - Colorado State Census, 1885 at Ancestry - ($), Index and images
For tips on accessing Gilpin County, Colorado Genealogy census records online, see: Colorado Census.
Federal Census Records
In 1860, present-day Colorado was enumerated in the Kansas, Nebraska, New Mexico, and Utah Territories. Colorado Territory was created in 1861 and was enumerated as such in the 1870 Census. The 1880 Census was the first federal census after Colorado became a state in 1876.  For links to Federal census indexes, see Colorado Census
Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Colorado denominations, view the Colorado Church Records wiki page.
Numerous records are available at Colorado Archives. To use this link scroll down the page to where it asks for Record Type. Click there and scroll down the list to the records you want and select. The next field asks for county. Select the county you want and then click on Search. You can narrow the search by adding the additional information it asks for.
1862-1878 Chancery Court Cases documenting legal decisions rendered by the territorial and district court of Gilpin County for the years 1862 - 1878. Chancery cases are those types of cases where justice was applied in circumstances not specifically covered by law during these years. Names appearing on this index most likely include some of the early gold seekers that came west in search of fortune and fame.
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups
Genealogy Trails - Gilpin County Genealogy and History website
Land and Property Records
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Colorado Land and Property for additional information about early Colorado land grants.
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where current records are also housed.
Online Land Records
- Colorado DPA Land Records - Index only; Choose Record Type, and search either "Land Patents" or "Land Records."
- Land Patent Search - index to federal patents and homesteads on the Bureau of Land Management website, some images available
- 1796-1907 - U.S. General Land Office Records, 1796-1907 at Ancestry - index, info taken from Bureau of Land Management website
- 1861-1936 - U.S. Homestead Records 1861-1936 at Ancestry.com - ($), index and images
- 1862-1908 - Denver Land Office Records, 1862-1908 at Ancestry.com - ($), index only
For more information see Colorado Land and Property
Local histories are available for Gilpin County, Colorado Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Colorado Local Histories.
Maps and Gazetteers
- Interactive Formation Boundary Map of Colorado - shows boundary changes for Colorado Counties
- Colorado Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library
Naturalization and Citizenship
- 1868-1990 - Colorado, State and Federal Naturalization Records, 1868-1990 at Ancestry ($); Index and images
- 1876-1990 - Colorado Naturalization Records, 1876-1990 at FamilySearch - Browseable images only; District Court records
Colorado Newspapers Online
- Colorado Online Historical Newspapers online - in the Colorado Historic Newspaper Collection by the Colorado State Library
- Colorado Newspapers at Ancestry.com - ($)
- GenealogyBank - ($), contains images of Colorado newspapers
- Newspaper Archive - ($), contains images of Colorado newspapers
- Chronicling America - contains images of some Colorado newspapers; searching tips
- Elephind - Free; search engine that retrieves newspaper images from other free newspaper websites
Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection has searchable digital copies of newspapers from all over the state of Colorado. The list of newspapers available for Gilpin county includes the Daily Mining Journal (Nov 1863 - Dec 1866) from Black Hawk, and the Daily Register Call (March 1868 - Feb 1879) and Evening Call (Feb 1878 - June 1878) from Central City. Newspapers that are available on this site date from 1859-1923 and are searchable.
Colorado Newspaper Catalogs
- U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper
For more information see Colorado Newspapers.
Probate records have been kept by the county courts. Colorado probate records include bonds, affidavits, letters, claims, appraisals, fee accounts, minutes, judgments, dockets, calendars, case files, and wills. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Colorado.
You may obtain copies of documents from the clerk's office in the county courthouse.
Colorado tax records complement land records and can be used as supplements to censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. To find tax records in the FamilySearch Catalog, do a Place Search for the county.
Colorado State Archives has put the Gilpin County Inheritance Tax Records Index for the years 1910-1922 on-line.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Vital Records Section Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Colorado.
Birth records may become public records when 100 years have elapsed after the date of birth. EXCEPTION: The birth record of any individual who is known to be currently alive will remain confidential even if they are 100 years of age or greater. 
For in-state births from 1903 to present, certificates can be obtained from Jefferson County Vital Statistics office. For birth certificates before 1903 contact the county where the birth occurred or the State Health Department at (303) 756-4464.
If you are obtaining a birth certificate for a sibling, parent, grandparent, etc., you will need to show chain of relationship. Examples are: A sibling could provide their birth certificate to show same parents. If you are trying to get a grandparent's birth certificate you will need to show your birth certificate, plus your parent's birth certificate to show chain of relationship. If you have questions on this please call our office at 303-271-6450.
The Gilpin County Recorder's office will search their indexes if you call or come in to the office. If a record is found, a copy can be purchased in person or by mail. Call 303 582-5321.
- 1809-2011 - Western States Marriage Index, 1809-2011 - Index, incomplete, list of counties included
- 1853-2006 - Colorado Statewide Marriage Index, 1853-2006 at FamilySearch.org - Index and images
- 1862-2006 - Colorado, County Marriages and State Indexes, 1862-2006 at Ancestry ($), Index and images
- 1864-1995 - Colorado, County Marriages, 1864-1995 at FamilySearch - Index and images
- 1900-1939 - Colorado, Statewide Marriage Index, 1900-1939 at Ancestry.com - ($); Browseable images of original index
Death records may become public records when 75 years have elapsed after the date of death. 
Certificates can be obtained from the Jefferson County Vital Statistics office.To obtain a recent death certificate, you must show a direct and tangible interest to the deceased. Relatives include wife, mother, father, child (if they are listed on the death certificate). If they are not listed on the death certificate they must show proof of relationship. This would include maternal grandparents, paternal grandparents, siblings if they can prove chain of relationship. If you have questions on this please call our office at 303-271-6450.
All divorces and divorce records are handled by the Colorado Judicial District 1, County Combined Courts. Please contact their office directly at 303-271-6145 or Fax: 303-271-6188.
Jefferson County Combined Courts
100 Jefferson County Parkway
Golden CO 80401
- 1851-1985 Colorado, Divorce Index, 1851-1985 at Ancestry - ($); Index only
- 1900-1939 - Colorado Statewide Divorce Index, 1900-1939 at FamilySearch - Browseable images of original index
The Colorado State Archives has the following records available for Gilpin County, Colorado Genealogy in this online database Archives Search. For a full list of online holdings, click here.
1880-1939 Divorce Index
1883-1900 Mine Accidents, Non - fatal
1936-1942 Civilian Conservation Corps Enrollments
1966-1968 Vietnam Deaths
1861-1882 Gilpin County District Court Filings
1862-1878 Gilpin County Chancery Cases
1864-1944 Gilpin County Marriages
1867-1876 Gilpin County Bankruptcy Docket
1874-1892 Gilpin County Probate Court Civil Case Filings
1910-1922 Gilpin County Inheritance Tax
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- Golden Colorado Family History Center
- Arvada Colorado Family History Center
- Boulder Colorado Family History Center
Gilpin County Library District
15131 Highway 119
Golden, CO 80403
Phone: (303) 582-5777
Gilpin Co. Public Library Website
- FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
- Gilpin County, Colorado Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Gilpin County, Colorado. Page 98 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Earliest Colorado Vital Records on File in Colorado Counties, Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, www.colorado.gov
- The Red Book, American State, County, and Town Sources. Edited by Alice Eichholz. (Ancestry, Provo; 3d ed, 2004.) Colorado article by Birdie Monk Holzclaw and Marsha Hoffman Rising. page 92,
- William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 51-54.
- Letter from Colorado State Registrar, Dated September 1, 2011. Policy Number 2011- 08. http://www.colorado.gov