Gimingham, Norfolk Genealogy
|Poor Law Union||Erpingham|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1698|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
GILLINGHAM, comprising the united parishes of All Saints and St. Mary, in the union of Loddon and Clavering, hundred of Clavering, E. division of Norfolk, 1¼ mile (N. by W.) from Beccles. 
Gimingham All Saints is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Norwich.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
- Erpingham 1837-1938
- North Walsham 1939-1974
- The Register Office, 18 Kings Arms Street, North Walsham, NR28 9JX.
Tel/Fax: 01692 406220. E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org
Gimingham, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free|
|Gimingham, Norfolk Genealogy Online Parish Records|
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue indicates that the following records are available:
|Baptisms, burials and marriages 1725-1811|| Norfolk, Gimingham - Church records
Norfolk, Trunch - Church records
|Digitized, on-line. Records found under England > Norfolk, Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1912 > Norfolk > Grimingham with Trunch||FHL BRITISH Film 1526816 Item 6|
|Baptisms, marriages and burials|| Norfolk, Westwick - Church records
Norfolk, Gimingham - Church records
|On microfilm||FHL BRITISH Film 887920 items 5-6|
|Baptisms, marriages and burials||Norfolk, Gimingham - Church records||On microfilm||FHL BRITISH Film 894717 item 5|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438853.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Gimingham on GenUKI
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 291-294. Date accessed: 18 March 2013.
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 25 February 2014.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
- 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.