Gimsing Parish, Ringkøbing, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Denmark
Ringkøbing County
Gimsing


Gimsing Church is in Gimsing on the southern outskirts of Struer. The church was built in the period 1157-1241. Gimsing Church records date back to 1689 in Denmark. A so-called coal Church, i.e. a church without a tower, built in granitkvadersten. Church's baptismal font is made of Norwegian steatite in the form of a four-leaf clover and is the oldest inventory. The bell dates from the 1200s. Altar Panel, altarpiece, pulpit, gallary and the oldest benches from about 1600. The nave is a model of the bark Thyra from 1869. The organ was built in 1968 by TH. Frobenius and sons Orgelbyggeri A / S. It is important for record searching to note neighboring Struer Church began construction in 1891 and the Gimsing Sogn and Parish boundaries were divided Gimsing/Struer. Struer Church record keeping begins in 1894.

Place Names:

Dalbygaard, Dalbymark, Gimsing, Gimsing Kirke, Hillersborg, Hundsballe, Keldsmark, Kvistrup, Movstgaarde, Nørgaard, Nørskovhus, Trudsø, Vestergaard, Vester Ringkøbing,
Søndergaard, Ørumgaard, Østerby

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records

Click Denmark, Ringkøbing Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a family history center near you. Click on "Places within Denmark, Ringkøbing" and then select your parish.

References

-Krabsen & Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase."
http://www.krabsen.dk/stednavnebase/,
-Trap, J. P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 4te ed. Vol.8, Ringkøbing Amt,
København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1928