Glacier County, Montana Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Glacier County, Montana)
Jump to: navigation, search

United StatesGotoarrow.png Montana Gotoarrow.png Glacier County

Guide to Glacier County, Montana ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

County Facts
County seat: Cut Bank
Organized: February 17, 1919
Parent County(s): Teton [1]
Neighboring Counties
Flathead  • Pondera  • Toole  • Alberta, Canada
See County Maps
Courthouse
MontanaGlacierCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Map of Montana highlighting Glacier County.svg.png
Adoption
This page is available for adoption

County Information

Description

Glacier County, Montana was founded in 1919. The county seat is Cut Bank.[2] The county is located in northwestern Montana.[3]

County Courthouse

Glacier County Courthouse
512 E Main Street
Cut Bank, MT 59427
Phone: 406.873.5063
Glacier County Website
County Clerk has birth, death, and land records 1919; Clerk Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records[4]

Glacier County, Montana Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1919*
1910*
1919*
1919
1919
1919
* For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes


Parent County: created 17 February 1919 from Teton
County seat: Cut Bank [5]

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county from Wikipedia: [6]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communites
Census-designated places

Indian Reservation
The Blackfeet Indian Reservation is located primarily in Glacier County, with a small portion in Pondera County.

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Glacier County, Montana online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Montana Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1920 4,178
1930 5,297 26.8%
1940 9,034 70.5%
1950 9,645 6.8%
1960 11,565 19.9%
1970 10,783 −6.8%
1980 10,628 −1.4%
1990 12,121 14.0%
2000 13,247 9.3%
2010 13,447 1.5%
Source: [1]


Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Montana starting in 1870. For links to federal census indexes, see Montana Census.

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Montana denominations, view the Montana Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Montana Land and Property for additional information about early Montana land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Glacier County, Montana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Montana Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Glacier County

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

World War I

For further information see Montana Military Records.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Montana Newspapers Online

Montana Newspaper Catalogs

  • U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Glacier County, Montana Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

See also United States Obituaries for more about finding United States obituaries.

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Montana, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Montana, Glacier - Probate records.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Montana tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most birth and death original records can be purchased from the Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. For information about marriages, divorces, and requirements for obtaining any vital records, see the CDC Where to Write website.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Meetings 2nd Tuesday of each month at 7:00 p.m. at the L.D.S. Family History Center.
Kathy Campbell: roncamp@cut-bank.mt.us
or 21 8th avenue SE, Cut Bank, MT 59427

Societies

[Tangled Roots Genealogical Society,
P.O. Box 1992,
Cut Bank MT 59427

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. http://genealogytrails.com/mon/glacier/ accessed 11/18/2016
  3. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Glacier_County,_Montana accessed 11/18/2016
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 416.
  5. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Glacier County, Montana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Glacier_County,_Montana, accessed 6 December 2016.