Glades County, Florida Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Glades County, Florida)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Florida  Gotoarrow.png  Glades County

Guide to Glades County, Florida ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}



Glades County, Florida
Map
Map of Florida highlighting Glades County
Location in the state of Florida
Map of the U.S. highlighting Florida
Location of Florida in the U.S.
Facts
Founded April 23, 1921
County Seat Moore Haven
Courthouse
FloridaGladesCourthouse.jpg
Adopt-a-wiki page
Flgenlogo100.png This page adopted by:
The FLGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Glades County FLGenWeb
Adopt a page today


County Information

Glades County, Florida Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1921 1830 1921 1921

County Courthouse

Glades County Courthouse
PO Box 10;
Moore Haven, FL 33471
Phone: 863.946.0361

Clerk of Courts has marriage, divorce, land, probate and
court records from 1921 and burial records from 1925.
County Health Department has birth and death records from 192. 1[2]

History

Parent County

1921--Glades County was created 23 April 1921 from DeSoto County.
County seat: Moore Haven [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Florida county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Florida County Boundary Maps" (1821-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Charlotte • DeSoto • Hendry • Highlands
Lee • Martin • Okeechobee • Palm Beach
DeSoto CountyHighlands CountyOkeechobee CountyCharlotte CountyGlades CountyMartin CountyLee CountyHendry CountyPalm Beach CountyFL Glades1.jpg


Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
FLGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
FLGenWeb Archives FLGenWeb Project
Tombstone Project Veterans Administration National Cemeteries
Florida Gravestones Interment.net
Billion Graves

Census

For tips on accessing Glades County, Florida Genealogy census records online, see: Florida Census.


Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Glades County, Florida Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.

Maps

Flglades.png

Military

Civil War
Korean War
Vietnam War

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Glades County, Florida Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records are held by the Glades County, Florida Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Glades County, Florida Genealogy Courthouse. See the wiki page Florida Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Records

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Florida Vital Records

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Florida.

Birth Records
  • 1880 - 1935 FamilySearch Florida, Births and Christenings, 1880-1935
Death Records
Divorce Records
Marriage Records
  • 1837 - 1974 FamilySearch Florida, Marriages, 1837-1974
  • 1830 - 1993 FamilySearch Florida, Marriages, 1830-1993
  • 1822 - 1875 and 1927 - 2001 FamilySearch Florida, Marriage Index, 1822-1875 and 1927-2001

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Web Sites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 123-139. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Glades County, Florida Page 134 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).