Glemsford, Suffolk Genealogy
|England Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Glemsford, Suffolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Sudbury|
|Parish registers: 1550|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1564|
|Diocese||Pre-1837 - Norwich; Post-1836 - Ely|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Sudbury|
|Location of Archive|
|Suffolk Record Office|
GLEMSFORD (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Sudbury, hundred of Babergh, W. division of Suffolk, 7 miles (N. N. W.) from Sudbury. There are places of worship for Baptists and Independents.
If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries. For those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at LDS Family History Centres. Refer to and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalogue for available records.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Glemsford, Suffolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Glemsford, Suffolk Genealogy Online Parish Records|
The Family History Library has microfilms of the original parish registers for Glemsford. The registers begin in 1550 and continue up to 1934. The registers contain christenings, burials, and marriages. There are gaps in years of the registers and these gaps are specified in the Family History Catalog. Since Latin was the script of the Church of England for sometime, part of the registers are in Latin. There is a transcription of the registers also microfilmed but does not cover the same span of years as the original records.
The Bishop's Transcripts or BT's begin in 1698 and then end in 1870. However the years of documenation are not continuous, there are gaps. The available years for Glemsford are; 1698, 1705, 1708,1715,1722, 1724, 1728, 1734, 1739, 1746, 1752,1759,1762,1769,1776, 1783,1790,1793,1800,1805,1812-70.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474633.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Suffolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 298-301. Date accessed: 25 September 2013.
- 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- 'Suffolk Baptism Index 1538-1911', Find My Past, accessed 5 January 2016.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Suffolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 10 December 2013.
- 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.