Glenfield, Leicestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Glenfield, Leicestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

EnglandGotoarrow.png Leicestershire Gotoarrow.png Leicestershire Parishes

Guide to Glenfield, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Glenfield, Leicestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Sparkenhoe
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Blaby
Registration District Blaby
Records begin
Parish registers: 1604
Bishop's Transcripts: 1566
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Guthlaxton
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Groby
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Parish History

GLENFIELD (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Blaby, hundred of Sparkenhoe, S. division of the county of Leicester, 3½ miles (W. N. W.) from Leicester. There are chapels of ease at Braunstone and Kirby-Muxloe, and a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Glenfield, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
Glenfield, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1604-1904

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438748.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 298-301. Date accessed: 10 September 2012.
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 27 January 2014.