Gloucestershire Church Records

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png Church Records

Gloucestershire Wiki Topics
Gloucester flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Gloucestershire Background
Local Research Resources


  • Find My Past Baptisms (scroll down the left sidebar to find Gloucestershire)

Parish Registers

The following websites provide data rich entries for baptisms, marriages and burials from early to the 1900's:

1. Ancestry.co.uk (£) has published millions of entries for the county of Gloucestershire. They have digitised and indexed both parish registers and bishop's transcripts:

2. FamilySearch has the following records:

Formerly known as the International Genealogical Index. These databases are free on FamilySearch.

3. Findmypast.co.uk published about the same time, a Bristol City database index to baptisms, marriages and burials as well.

Baptisms

189,039 Gloucestershire entries are included in England & Wales Christening Records, 1530-1906 at Ancestry (£). Formerly known as British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Coverage.[1]

Marriages

Gloucestershire Marriage Index 1800-1837 is available online at Family History Societies Online (£).

222 Gloucestershire parishes are indexed in Boyd's Marriage Index (£). Coverage. Bristol was a popular place to marry.[2]

There are 147 Gloucestershire parishes which are indexed in Joiner's Marriage Index (£). Coverage.[3]

There are 93,780 Gloucestershire entries included in England & Wales Marriages, 1538-1940 at Ancestry (£). Formerly known as British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Coverage.[4]

FamilySearch and Ancestry have all published extensive online data for marriages for Gloucestershire as of February, 2015.

Findmypast has published online data for the City of Bristol from 1538 to 1939.

Burials

Burials from 310 Gloucestershire places (167,500 entries) are included in the National Burial Index (£). Coverage.[5]

See Findmypast, Ancestry and Familysearch which also provide published data for burials for the county.

Marriage Licences

Marriage licences could be obtained from the Bishop of Gloucester, as well as from the Bishop of Bristol.

  • 1636-1777 - Boyd's Marriage Index (£) includes 30,312 entries from Bristol Diocese marriage licences (1637-1777). There are also 2756 entries from Gloucester Diocese marriage licences (1636-1742).[6]

Bishop of Gloucester

Bishop of Bristol

Forest of Dean

A very helpful resource for parishes in the Forest of Dean in Gloucestershire is an online database of indexed parish registers found at www.forest-of-dean.net.  It includes index baptism, marriage, and burial records from the following parishes.

  • Abenhall
  • Adsett
  • Alvington
  • Arlingham
  • Ashleworth
  • Aston Ingham
  • Awre
  • Beachley
  • Bishopswood
  • Blaisdon
  • Blakeney
  • Brearn
  • Bromsberrow
  • Bulley
  • Chapel Hill
  • Chepstow
  • Christchurch
  • Churcham
  • Cinderford
  • Clearwell
  • Coleford
  • Corse
  • Courtfield
  • Deerhurst
  • Dixton
  • Drybrook
  • Dymock
  • English Bicknor
  • Falfield
  • Flaxley
  • Goodrich
  • Hartpury
  • Hasfield
  • Hewelsfield
  • Hope Mansell
  • Huntley
  • Kempley
  • Lassington
  • Lea
  • Ledbury
  • Linton
  • Littledean
  • Little Marcle
  • Llandogo
  • Longdon
  • Longhope
  • Longney
  • Lydbrook
  • Lydney
  • Maisemore
  • Marstow
  • Minsterworth
  • Mitcheldean
  • Monmouth
  • Much Marcle
  • Newent
  • Newland
  • Norton
  • Oxenhall
  • Parkend
  • Pauntley
  • Penallt
  • Pillowell
  • Preston by Ledbury
  • Redmarley
  • Rodley
  • Ross on Wye
  • Ruardean
  • Rudford
  • St Arvans
  • St Briavels
  • Staunton
  • Staunton near Newent
  • Taynton
  • The Leigh
  • Tibberton
  • Tintern
  • Tirley
  • Tutshill
  • Upleadon
  • Upton Bishop
  • Viney Hill
  • Walford
  • Welsh Bicknor
  • Westbury on Severn
  • Weston under Penyard
  • Whitchurch
  • Woolaston
  • Wotton under Edge

References

  1. 'Genoot Library - British Isles Vital Record Index Breakdown,' Genoot, accessed 1 September 2013.
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' British Origins, (Wayback Machine) accessed 31 August 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of the Joiner Marriage Index', The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 1 September 2013.
  4. 'Genoot Library - British Isles Vital Record Index Breakdown,' Genoot, accessed 1 September 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 1 September 2013.
  6. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 1 December 2012.