Gloucestershire, England Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Gloucestershire Genealogy)
Jump to: navigation, search
Gloucestershire Wiki Topics
Gloucester flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Gloucestershire Background
Local Research Resources
United Kingdom
England
Gloucestershire
Gloucestershire England

Guide to Gloucestershire ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

{{{link}}}

County Information

“GLOUCESTERSHIRE, or Gloucester, an inland, but partly maritime, county of England; bounded, on the NW, by Herefordshire and Worcestershire; on the N, by Worcestershire and Warwickshire; on the E, by Oxfordshire; on the SE, by Berks and Wilts; on the S, by Wilts and Somerset; on the W, by the Severn's estuary and by Monmouthshire... and its area is 805,102 acres... The hill section extends from end to end of the county; is, in some parts, 8 miles broad; bears the name of Cotswolds...

“The county contains 356 parishes or quasi-parishes, parts of 5 others, and 10 extra-parochial tracts...

“The entire county is in the diocese of Gloucester and Bristol... The places of worship in the political county, in 1851, were 433 of the Church of England, 96 of Independents, 102 of Baptists, 12 of Quakers, 7 of Unitarians, 3 of Moravians, 144 of Wesleyan Methodists, 30 of Primitive Methodists, 7 of Bible Christians, 3 of the Wesleyan Association, 30 of Wesleyan Reformers, 11 of Calvinistic Methodists, 1 of the New Church, 8 of Brethren, 16 of isolated congregations, 9 of Latter Day Saints, 14 of Roman Catholics, and 2 of Jews.

“Population in 1801 was 250,723; in 1821, 336,190; in 1841, 431,495; in 1861, 485,770.” (John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). To see the full version, go to Vision of Britain.)

Parishes

Click on a letter for a list of Wiki page links to Gloucestershire parishes:
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Use an interactive map to find jurisdictions for each parish in Gloucestershire.

Civil Registration Districts

List of Gloucestershire Civil Registration Districts

Websites