Godalming, Surrey Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Godalming, Surrey)
Jump to: navigation, search

England go to Surrey go to Surrey Parishes

Guide to Godalming, Surrey ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Godalming, Surrey
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Godalming
County Surrey
Poor Law Union Guildford
Registration District Guildford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1582
Bishop's Transcripts: 1689
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stoke
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Surrey
Location of Archive
Surrey Record Office

Parish History

GODALMING (St. Peter and St. Paul), an incorporated market town and parish, in the union of Guildford, First division of the hundred of Godalming, W. division of Surrey, 4 miles (S. S. W.) from Guildford, and 34 (S. W.) from London. There are places of worship for General Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, and Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Godalming, Surrey Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1582
1583
1583
Indexes 1582-1863 FamilySearch[2] 1583-1794
1813-1837
FamilySearch[3] 1583-1948 findmypast[4]
1583-1688 findmypast[5]


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474661.


Genealogy From Periodicals

Shillingford, Betty. Garboldisham to Basra via Godalming. History of Arthur Cyril Harbour, born Godalming Surrey 1896 and died in Basra in 1916. Family can be traced back to Garboldisham. There was an exhibition at the Godalming Museum, October 2010, and the author was able to trace the family back to 1725 in Norfolk. She gives a description of the family, and their whereabouts. There is a picture of Arthur Cyril Harbour, and article dates from 1725-1985, and is found in The Norfolk Ancestor, New series, vol. 8, pt. 2, page 112-115, Family History Library Ref. 942.61 B2j (June 2011)

Probate records

Surrey will abstracts (1470-1858) are available online at British Origins (£).[6]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 26 February 2014.
  2. Batches C013332, C013333, P013331, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Surrey, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 April 2012.
  3. Batches M013331, M013332, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Surrey, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 April 2012.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Surrey,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 11 April 2012.
  5. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net (WayBack Machine), accessed 27 March 2012.
  6. 'About Surrey and South London Will Abstracts 1470-1858,' Origins.net, accessed 27 June 2012.