Godington, Oxfordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Godington, Oxfordshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Oxfordshire
Oxfordshire Parishes
Godington


Guide to Godington, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Godington, Oxfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ploughley
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Bicester
Registration District Bicester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1678
Bishop's Transcripts: 1700
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bicester
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and the Archdeaconry of Oxford
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Parish History

GODDINGTON (Holy Trinity), a parish, in the union of Bicester, hundred of Ploughley, county of Oxford, 5½ miles (N. E.) from Bicester. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Godington, Oxfordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[3]
Godington, Oxfordshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1678-1812
OFHS 1678-1995
1679-1953
1678-1997


Census records

a.  {British Census|474574 }}

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 301-312. Date accessed: 04 October 2012.
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Oxford, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 16 January 2014.
  3. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 24 January 2014.