Godmanchester, Huntingdonshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England  Gotoarrow.png  HuntingdonshireGotoarrow.png  Huntingdonshire Parishes
Godmanchester, Huntingdonshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Toseland
County Huntingdonshire
Poor Law Union Huntingdon
Registration District Huntingdon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1604
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery St Neots
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of Lincoln and of the Archdeacon in the Archdeaconry of Huntingdon
Location of Archive
Huntingdonshire Record Office

Guide to Godmanchester, Huntingdonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History

Godmanchester or Gumecester, is a town and a parish in the district of Huntingdon, Huntingdonshire, ¾ of a mile SSE of Huntingdon There are two Baptist chapels.[1] 

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Godmanchester, Huntingdonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
HUNT = Huntingdonshire Burials (findmypast) - (£)[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[6]
Godmanchester, Huntingdonshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1753-1778, 1800-1875
1604-1872

BOYD
1604-1837

HUNT

1701-1900
IGI Undefined 1813-1872
NBI

1604-1900

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288839.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Huntingdonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Godmanchester on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-2. Date accessed: 15 August 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 18 April 2014.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Huntingdonshire Burials,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 26 April 2014.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Huntingdon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 April 2014.
  6. 'National Burial Index - Huntingdonshire Coverage,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 17 April 2014.