Goldenhill, Staffordshire Genealogy
Guide to Goldenhill, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Wolstanton and Burslem|
|Parish registers: 1841|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Rural Deanery||Newcastle under Lyme|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Staffordshire Record Office|
GOLDEN-HILL, a village, in the township of Oldcott, parish of Wolstanton, union of Wolstantonand Burslem, hundred of Pirehill, county of Stafford, 2½ miles (N. N. W.) from Burslem. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Goldenhill St John the Evangelist was formed from part of Wolstanton, Staffordshire in 1842
Goldenhill parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (findmypast) - (£)|
|GOLDENHILL PARISH (1841) Online Records|
Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1841-1923 Mar 1849-1919 Bur 1841-1888
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1841-1854 Mar none Bur 1841-1854 Bap & bur missing 1846-1852
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474622.
Genealogy From Periodicals
Burdette, Norris C. Burdett History. History of descendants of William Burdett of Naseby, Northamptonshire, wife unknown, listing the children, born 1713 onwards. Part of the family go to Staffordshire, Golden Hill. One of the later descendants, Oliver Burdett, emigrates to USA, in 1842, to Pennyslvania, Sharron, and Garden City, and Minnesota, Minneapolis. Pictures also included. Surnames listed, Falkner, Cheney, Linnett, Sewall, Johnston, Lyons, West, North, Osborne, Moors, Cardillie, Hagman. Article dated 1713-1983, and is found in Footprints, Northamptonshire Family History Society Magazine. vol. 6.no.2,pages 55-58. Family History Library Ref. 942.55 D25fo vol.6.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 312-315. Date accessed: 25 October 2012.
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 11 September 2013.
- 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 21 August 2014.