Goodmanham, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Goodmanham, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Pocklington|
|Parish registers: 1678|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Rural Deanery||Harthill and Hull|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of York; Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
GOODMANHAM (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Pocklington, Holme-Beacon division of the wapentake of Harthill, E. riding of York, 1¼ mile (N. E. by N.) from Market-Weighton. This place is of very remote antiquity, and is supposed to have derived its name from the great Pagan temple of Northumbria. Church of England records began in 1696. At Eastrop was formerly a chapel of ease. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Goodmanham exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|FMP= findmypast - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|GOODMANHAM PARISH (1696) Online Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464219.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 5 March 2013.
- 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' findmypast, accessed 7 October 2014.
- 'National Burial Index - Yorkshire (East Riding) Coverage,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 17 October 2014.