Gosper County, Nebraska Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Gosper County, Nebraska)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Nebraska Gotoarrow.png Gosper County

Gosper County, Nebraska
Map of Nebraska highlighting Gosper County
Location in the state of Nebraska
Map of the U.S. highlighting Nebraska
Location of Nebraska in the U.S.
Founded November 26, 1873
County Seat Elwood
Gosper county courthouse
Address Gosper County Courthouse
507 Smith Ave.
P.O. Box 136
Elwood, Nebraska 68037-0136
Phone: 308.785.2611

Gosper County, Nebraska genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.


County Information

Gosper County, Nebraska Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1873 1880 1873 1873

County Courthouse

Gosper County Courthouse
507 Smith Ave,P.O. Box 136
Elwood, NE 68937-0136
Phone: 308.785.2611

County Judge has marriage and probate records from 1891
and court records 1920. County Clerk has divorce records
from 1880 and land records. [2]


Parent County

1873--Gosper County was created 26 November 1873 from Kearney County and unorganized territory.
County seat: Elwood [3]


Gosper County is located on the high divide of table-land between the Platte and Republican Rivers.

The county is bounded on the north by Dawson, east by Phelps, south by Furnas and west by Frontier.

Its county seat is Elwood. [4]

The Largest city is Elwood. The county was formed in 1873 and later organized in 1881. It was named after John J. Gosper, a Secretary of State of Nebraska. [5]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.


Populated Places [6]

  • Elwood (county seat)
  • Smithfield

Neighboring Counties



Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NEGenWeb Billion Graves
NEGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Nebraska Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See Nebraska Cemeteries for more information.


Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1880 1,673
1890 4,816 187.9%
1900 5,301 10.1%
1910 4,933 −6.9%
1920 4,669 −5.4%
1930 4,287 −8.2%
1940 3,687 −14.0%
1950 2,734 −25.8%
1960 2,489 −9.0%
1970 2,178 −12.5%
1980 2,140 −1.7%
1990 1,928 −9.9%
2000 2,143 11.2%
2010 2,044 −4.6%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Gosper County, Nebraska Genealogy census records online, see: Nebraska Census.

State Census Records
Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Nebraska starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Nebraska Census.


Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.



Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

For more information see Nebraska Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Gosper County, Nebraska Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers



Early migration routes to and from Gosper County, Nebraska Genealogy for European and African American settlers included:


Revolutionary War
Civil War


For information on Nebraska newspapers, see Nebraska Newspapers. Nebraska Newspapers Online

Nebraska Newspaper Catalogs


In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - Gosper - Probate records.

Online Probate Records


Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Marriage Records

Online Marriage Records Indexes and Images

Societies and Libraries

County, Township and City Societies

Nebraska Historical & Genealogical Societies

  • Nebraska Military Historical Society
    1330 N. Burlington Ave.
    P.O. Box 1286
    Hastings 68901-1286
  • Nebraska Jewish Historical Society
    333 S. 132nd St.
    Omaha, NE
    Phone: 402-334-6442
  • North Central Nebraska Genealogical Society
    P.O. Box 362
    O’Neill NE 68763
  • Northeastern Nebraska Genealogical Society
    P.O. Box 169
    Lyons NE 68038
  • Northern Nebraska Genealogical Society
    P.O. Box 362
    O’Neill NE
  • Northwest Nebraska Genealogical Society
    P.O. Box 6
    Alliance, Nebraska 69301


Family History Centers

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites


  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 452-465. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Gosper County, Nebraska page 430, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. http://genealogytrails.com/neb/gosper/
  5. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gosper_County,_Nebraska
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Gosper County, Nebraska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gosper_County,_Nebraska, accessed 1 August 2016.
  7. Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map II" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap2.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).
  8. "Oregon California Trails Association" at http://octatrails.micromaps.com/ (accessed 18 July 2011).
  9. "The Pioneer Story: The Mormon Pioneer Trail" in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints at http://lds.org/gospellibrary/pioneer/pioneerstory.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).