Grady County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Grady County, Georgia)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States go to Georgia go to Grady County

Guide to Grady County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Grady County, Georgia
Map of Georgia highlighting Grady County
Location in the state of Georgia
Founded August 17, 1905
County Seat Cairo
Address Grady County Courthouse
250 N Broad Street
Cairo, GA 31726-4101
Phone: 912.377.2912
Grady County Website

County Information

Grady County, Georgia Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Grady County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate



County Courthouse

Grady County Courthouse
250 N Broad Street
Cairo, GA 31726-4101
Phone: 912.377.2912

Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court and land records from 1906.[1]

Clerk of Superior Court
250 North Broad Street, Box 8
Cairo, GA 39828
Telephone: (229) 377-2912
Fax: (229) 377-7078

Probate Court of Grady County
250 North Broad Street, Box 1
Cairo, GA 39828
Telephone: 229-377-4621
Fax: 229-378-8052


Parent County

1905--Grady County was created 17 August 1905 from Decatur and Thomas Counties. County seat: Cairo [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

1980 The courthouse at Cairo burned 18 February 1980. Fire fighters and citizens carried some records to safety, and a vault protected most records from damage.[3]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Decatur County  • Gadsden County  • Leon County  • Mitchell County  • Thomas County

Grady CountyDecatur CountyThomas CountySeminole CountyBrooks CountyLowndes CountyBerrien CountyTift CountyWorth CountyCook CountyColquitt CountyMitchell CountyBaker CountyDougherty CountyCalhoun CountyBaker CountyClay CountyEarly CountyMiller CountyJackson CountyCalhoun CountyLiberty CountyGadsden CountyLeon CountyWakulla CountyJefferson CountyMadison CountyTaylor CountyGAGrady.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records


Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county Family History Library
GAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
GAGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Billion Graves
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information.


Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.



Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Grady County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.




Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Grady County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Grady County, Georgia Genealogy:

  • Brunton, Yvonne Miller. 1981. Grady County, Georgia: some of its history, folk architecture, and families. Danielsville, Ga: Heritage Papers. 975.8986 H2b



Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Grady County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).


Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Marriage Records
Death Records
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Grady County Museum and History Center
101 North Broad Street
Cairo, Georgia
11:00 AM - 3:00 PM Tuesday & Thursday
11:00 AM - 5:00 PM Wednesday

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.



  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Grady County, Georgia. Page 155 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 33. At various libraries (WorldCat).