Grafenried parish, Bern, Switzerland

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngBern Gotoarrow.png Grafenried parish

Guide to Grafenried parish, Bern, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Geography =

History

Place Names

Municipalities within Grafenried

Gemeinden or Municipalities
Grafenried
Fraubrunnen

Surrounding Parishes


Grafenried Gemeinde

It consists of about 2 square miles and had a population of about 260 people in 1764 and 640 people in 1850.

Surnames

The community or gemeinde of Grafenried was the heimat or ancestral home for about 20 different surnames. The Register of Swiss Surnames provides the surnames associated with every gemeinde or community in Switzerland. The register provides correct spellings for surnames and place names.

Locations

A google map that shows the villages in Grafenried centuries old; namely, Buchhof and Binnel, etc

Genealogies

There are numerous compiled genealogies that have been created since 1900; however, they need to verified by researching the parish registers since it has been proven that a percentage of them are inaccurate.

The following genealogies have been researched for Grafenried families: Kunz, deGrafenried

Collections

Church Records

There is an article describing the challenges of using the online collection and a general description of the records. i.e. Taufen, Heiraten, Toten, Auswärtige, and Ausbürger. Graffenried registers are available on microfilm, or online. The German Word List has many of the words you will find in the registers.

................................................................................................................

The parish registers for Grafenried were recorded in the following volumes, as numbered by the Cantonal Archive of Bern with links to the online records:

Baptisms
Volume Description Time period Online Record ⇒   index FHL Film
K1 Taufrodel 1 1552-1622 here
here
 
K2 Taufrodel 2 1622-1665 here  
K3 Taufrodel 3 1665-1695
1696-1704
here
here
K4 Taufrodel 4 1704-1739 here
K6 Taufrodel 5 1740-1774 here
K8 Taufrodel 6 1775-1816 here
here
 
K9 Taufrodel 7 1817-1838 here   2005423
K10 Taufrodel 8 1839-1875 here   2005423
K11 Taufrodel 9 auswärts 1843-1875 here   2005423
Marriages
Volume Description Time period Online Record ⇒   index FHL Film
K1 Eherodel 1 1552-1621 here  
K2 Eherodel 2 1624-1665 here  
K3 Eherodel 3 1665-1703 here
K4 Eherodel 4 1705-1739 here
K6 Eherodel 5 1740-1752 here
K7 Eherodel 6 1751-1821 here   2005423
K12 Eherodel 7 1822-1869 here
K13 Eherodel 8 1870-1875 here   2005423
Burials
Volume Description Time period Online Record ⇒   index FHL Film
K3 Totenrodel 1 1681-1697 here  
K4 Totenrodel 2 1710-1752 here
here
here
no index
K5 Totenrodel 3 1751-1820 here
here
  2005422
K14 Totenrodel 4 1822-1856
1856-1875
here
here
here
  2005423
  2005423
Konfirmanden
Volume Description Time period Online Record ⇒   index FHL Film
FHL Film
K3 Kommunikantenrodel 1681-1701 here
here
 
K4 Kommunikantenrodel 1704-1751 here  


Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Bern

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland