Grant County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Grant County, Arkansas)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Grant County

Guide to Grant County, Arkansas ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records


Grant County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Grant County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 4, 1869
County Seat Sheridan
Courthouse
ArkansasGrantCourthouse.jpg
Address Grant County Courthouse
101 W Center Street #106; PO Box 364
Sheridan, AR 72150
Phone: 870.942.2551


County Courthouse

Grant County Courthouse
101 W Center Street #106; PO Box 364
Sheridan, AR 72150
Phone: 870.942.2551

County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records from 1877.[1]

Beginning years for Grant County, Arkansas Genealogy government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1877 1914* 1877 1877 1877
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Government and Related Websites

County Government and other Local Websites
County-clerk.net (unofficial site) Clerks have jurisdiction over birth certificates, death certificates, marriage licenses, land use, land rights, real estate, and other court records. Site provides links to unofficial websites with online records
PublicRecords.com (unofficial site) Provides links to County officials and public records

History

Parent County

County seat: Sheridan [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Variant Spellings

Record Loss

1877 All records through March 13, 1877 were destroyed.

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Cleveland  • Dallas  • Hot Spring  • Jefferson  • Pulaski  • Saline

Grant CountyJefferson CountyLincoln CountyCleveland CountyDallas CountyClark CountyHot Spring CountyGarland CountyPerry CountySaline CountyPulaski CountyLonoke CountyPrairie CountyArkansas CountyMonroe CountyDesha CountyDrew CountyCalhoun CountyOuachita CountyNevada CountyYell CountyFaulkner CountyARGrant.JPG


History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Grant County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [4]

  • 1800s (early) - Cherokee and Choctaw settlers lived for a time in Grant County before being forcibly removed to Indian Territory.
  • 1840s - The inexpensive land attracted settlers; some brought their African-American slaves. They arrived by wagon train, some coming from Alabama.
  • 1857-1858 - One typical early white settler was Richard D. Rhodes, who somehow obtained certificates intended for Choctaw settlement and claimed 320 acres of land in 1857 and another 320 acres in 1858.
  • 1861 - When the Civil War broke out , many men from Grant County joined Arkansas regiments, and a year later, the area had few able-bodied men left.
  • 1869 February 4 - Governor Powell Clayton signed a bill creating Grant County.
  • 1933-1942 - The Civilian Conservation Corps was active in Grant County during the Depression. The men at Camp Sheridan were primarily involved in forestry work. Also active in the county was the National Youth Administration, which built school buildings in Prattsville, Grapevine, Oak Grove, Leola, Poyen, and Sheridan

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Online Grant County, Arkansas cemeteries
from state and national resources
Search for names of people
in Grant County
Get a list of cemeteries
(then click to names of people)
Find printed records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, enter a name, click "Search"
  • Billion Graves Enter a name and click "Search" (Statewide. Can search by county, but many with no results.)
  • Find A Grave Click Search for a Cemetery on the right, click All Countries - click United States, click State, click County and search.

More cemetery lists

General:

Individual Cemeteries:

Census

Church Records

Court

Genealogy

Guardianship

  • Probate Records 1877-1949 Grant County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration bonds and letters 1877-1949; Administration, executor and guardian settlements 1882-1918; Dockets 1877-1924; Inventories and appraisements 1880-1934; Probate records 1877-1934; Wills 1877-1936.

Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

  • Biographical and Historical Memoirs of Pulaski, Jefferson, Lonoke, Faulkner, Grant, Saline, Perry, Garland, and Hot Spring Counties, Arkansas. Chicago, Nashville, and St. Louis, USA: Goodspeed Publishing, 1889. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)

Maps

Military

Civil War
Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battle was fought in Grant County.

  • Map showing Civil War battles in Arkansas.

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Grant County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Occupations

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Grant County, Arkansas Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. For towns, click here.
WorldCat Click an item for libraries near you. For more information, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Located in Indiana, they are heavily involved in digitizing much of their collection.
Arkansas History Commission Select the county Arkansas state agency involved in organizing, digitizing, and maintaining the records of state and local history.
Local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries may suggest other catalogs

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
RootsWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Grant County, Arkansas Genealogy
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records


Social networking sites pertaining to Grant County, Arkansas Genealogy
genealogy.com Grand County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Grant County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 67.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Bill Lancaster, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=771&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent= : accessed January 13, 2016), “Grant County.”
  5. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 15 August, 2012)
  6. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.
  7. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0d/Igiarkansasem.pdf.