Grays Thurrock, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Grays Thurrock, Essex)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes

Guide to Grays Thurrock, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Grays Thurrock, Essex
St Peter and Paul Grays Essex contributor Ron Galliers.jpg
St Peter and Paul Grays Essex contributor Ron Galliers
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chafford
County Essex
Poor Law Union Orsett
Registration District Orsett
Records begin
Parish registers: 1674
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Orsett
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Grays Thurrock, or Grays, is a small town and a parish in Orsett district, Essex. The town stands on the Thames, and on the London and Southend railway, between Fiddler's Reach and Northfleet Hope, it is 3 miles WNW of Tilbury Fort, and 10 miles SE of Romford.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Grays Thurrock, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Grays Thurrock, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX
1677-1972
1674-1957
1674-1955
FSPRs Undefined
Undefined
Undefined

Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office  St Peter and Paul, also available All Saints, Salisbury Road Strict Baptist Church register of burials, Grays and Romford Primitive Methodist Church baptisms register, London Road Wesleyan Methodist Church Baptisms and Marriages, New Road United Methodist Church baptisms and marriages.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist Reform

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241363.


Poor Law Unions

Orsett Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

Grays Thurrock on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870. Adapted: date accessed: 21 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 23 September 2014.
  3. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.