Great Barrington, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Great Barrington, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Part of this parish is in Berkshire. See also Great Barrington, Berkshire.
Great Barrington, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Slaughter
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Stow on the Wold
Registration District Stow on the Wold
Records begin
Parish registers: 1547
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stow
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Parish History

BARRINGTON, GREAT (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Stow-on-the-Wold, Lower division of the hundred of Slaughter, E. division of the county of Gloucester, 3¼ miles (N. W.) from Burford. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Great Barrington, Gloucestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
FHSO = FHSOnline - (£)[6]
FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
GREAT BARRINGTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1547-1812 1547-1812 1547-1753 1547-1753 1547-1812 1547-1812
AC 1813-1880 1813-1880 1754-1938 1754-1938 1813-1915 1813-1915
FHSO 1800-1837
FREG 1800-1837
Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288777.


Genealogy From Periodicals

Finney, Janet. A Short History of the Hemmings. History and family names of John Hemming and nee Ann Harris and the following surnames, Green, Smith, Whitney, Blunt, Jones, in the following areas Gloucestershire, Oxfordshire, Northampton, North Wales. Article dated from 1731-1910, and is found in Fottprints (Northamptonshire Family History Society Magazine)Nov 2010. vol. 33. no. 2. pages 18-24, Family History Library Ref. 942.55 D25fo v.33.no2

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Great Barrington in GENUKI

References